1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My First HTPC

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Spud36, Oct 9, 2004.

1. Spud36

Spud36

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hello

I am new to all this so please be patient. I currently have a sky digibox and DVD player hooked up to my CRT TV via RGB Scart socket. I would like to replicate this in a PC with the ability to record from sky and to play it all back on my TV.
    I understood that in order to achieve the above I would need a TV card with PVR facilities which would recieve the input from sky and record the signal etc. and a Graphics card that would output the pictue to the TV. This is where my confusion started. I cannot find a setup which uses RGB Scart. Is there anybody who can suggest suitable hardware.

Also can you convert a PC into a Sky digibox? I suppose this would be something that would replicate a Sky+ box.

Thanks for any help you can give me

2. Kramer

Kramer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    HCPCs aren't much use feeding a "regular" TV via composite/s-video. They're really only used via VGA to plasmas & projectors.

Having said that, the Realmagic "X-card" does offer RGB out.

Only way to archive to PC/HDD from Sky is with a capture card so no, not really a plausible replacement for Sky+.

:)

3. groovyclam

groovyclam
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I beg to differ on both counts.

----

As long as you use a Radeon 9000-series as the graphics card for the HTPC then you can get *perfect* RGB output from the VGA port by soldering up your own VGA-to-RGB-SCART lead as per the instructions on this site:

http://ryoandr.free.fr/english.html

I and many HTPC users have done this and obtain excellent RGB on our ordinary CRT Televisions as can be attested to in this thread: