My first experience with TV AV systems - suggestions and help?

boj27

Novice Member
Hi guys,

so I’ve recently moved into my first home. I have a large living room (6m by 4m) with the tv being 3.2m away from the sofa, thus have opted for an LG CX77 inch.

I’ve never built a sound system before so it’s all totally new to me.

ive done some light digging - if I want bang for buck, the Qacoustic 3050i cinema pack gets raving reviews - can anyone recommend these?

I don’t know if I should go for a 7.1 surround sound system, or a 5.1 or even if soundbars these days are worth it for simplicity and just generally being easier to live with?

If anyone has any suggestions please let me know! Thanks!

gibbsy

To use separate speakers you will also need an AV amp. These can run from around £400 to £4000. For the QA system then I suggest a starting point of the Denon AVR X2700. Very easy to set up and use for a first timer. At this end of the market you will be limited to a seven speaker set up either as a 7.1 or 5.1.2 for Atmos.

Soundbars have their own processors and amplification onboard. Nowhere near as good as a speaker set up providing that speaker set up is correctly placed.

boj27

Novice Member
To use separate speakers you will also need an AV amp. These can run from around £400 to £4000. For the QA system then I suggest a starting point of the Denon AVR X2700. Very easy to set up and use for a first timer. At this end of the market you will be limited to a seven speaker set up either as a 7.1 or 5.1.2 for Atmos.

Soundbars have their own processors and amplification onboard. Nowhere near as good as a speaker set up providing that speaker set up is correctly placed.

thanks! So it looks like Pete Tyson has an offer on at the moment - Denon AVR x2700h + a q12 sub upgrade + the 3050i QA cinema package.

would you recommend adding 2 ceiling speakers to the setup to enable Dolby Atmos support? If so. Can you recommend a set of 2 speakers? :)

gibbsy