1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My first 24" widescreen TV - advise reqired

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Rediffusion, Aug 26, 2003.

1. Rediffusion

Rediffusion
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I am about to buy my first widescreen TV (CRT). I've only got around £350 to spend so I realise that I am probably going to have to get a 24" rather than a 28". Most mags only review 28" and above, so I've had trouble finding out about the best 24" buy. The Philips 24PW6006 is rated quite highly but also has some negative points (dark RGB shadows apparently). Which other brands / models should I be considering? I am not an expert on buying TV's so would greatly appreciate any advise that any of you can offer.

Also, where is a good place to buy TV's? I am a big fan of Richer Sounds but they don't seem to sell CRT TV's. I've got some John Lewis gift vouchers, but their range is limited. Any comments?

thanks in advance,
    Rich ;)

2. hornydragon

hornydragon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  3. Rediffusion

Rediffusion
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately times are tight and 'her indoors' isn't to keen on me blowing too much cash :(

I'm not too keen on these type of shops, but just for reference, does anybody have any coment on these Comet widescreen TVs

Rich ;)

4. Mylo

Mylo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +372
  5. one_jedi

one_jedi

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0