1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Fault, Philips pw6006-pls Help

Discussion in 'TVs' started by phatdriver, May 2, 2005.

  1. phatdriver

    phatdriver
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    HELLO PEOPLE...

    I have a fantastic PHILIPS 32PW6006/25
    It was that good and this is my story...

    I was on a forum (very similar to this one),
    and they showed me this code.

    I press a few keys and up pops SAM!

    I have a little look around and didnt do much!

    not gonna say I didnt do anything and I dont know whats transpired:
    But on exiting SAM

    I NOW HAVE NO SOUND!!!

    Whats in menu, called, CLEAR?
    I press down and then right.
    TV responds CLEARED!!!

    THANK YOU FOR THAT LESSON!!!
    IM LEARNING FAST!!!
    Thats done something good right?!

    On exiting SAM I have no sound.
    No, Steve, not a good thing, your going to have a bad...

    Need some HELP, ADVICE!

    NEED SOME BOTH!..

    Been around looking for help and have pressed other buttons too
    on the advice of Forums!!!

    THINGS ARE GRIM...

    Whats going on with my TV!!!
    Wheres my old fashion twidley buttons!!!

     
  2. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,932
    This is why service menu info should not be given out on forums :lesson:
     
  3. phatdriver

    phatdriver
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I make you right! I agree, 99% but it has happened and now I need help!
     
  4. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,932
    I think there is a label stuck to the rear of the crt with the default "option codes" printed on it and these numbers are specific to each model.
     
  5. phatdriver

    phatdriver
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanx for the info!
    By the way, whats a CRT?
    How and where do I find it?
    What do I do once Ive found it:)
    Do ya think I can fix this problem myself or is it a repair person type job!
    And if so will it be costly?
    What a pain in the...
    Thanx again...
     
  6. WYSIWYG-UK

    WYSIWYG-UK
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,932
    The CRT is the tube, I would definitely NOT advise any inexperienced person to take the back off a Tv :lesson: , call around a few local Tv repair shops and ask for a quote.
     
  8. phatdriver

    phatdriver
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanx for all ya help.

    I will have a look for these codes
    (with the plug out of the socket)
    and if I dont see em, I'll get a repair!
    Not much else I can do I suppose.

    Do ya have any idea why I lost the sound in the first place?
     
  9. Garfield

    Garfield
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You accessed the SAM ...... :rolleyes:

    You saw an option which said clear and took it - not a very bright move.

    I feel for ya, I have done similar myself but like Kirk or Picard in Star Trek I always seem to resolve it.

    I wouldn't like to cause any more damage but exactly which option / menu section has 'clear' on it, surely this sub menu area allows the setting of values you cleared.

    From what I have heard some of these menus though are meant for factory use only, some sets need a special 'download' source to reload some settings - something to do with customizing for different countries- wouldn't expect one of these to be sound though.
     
  10. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    Even with the mains disconnected, there's still enough electricity inside to make that your last Forum post! :eek:

    PLEASE PLEASE don't remove the back if you're inexperienced. :nono:
     
  11. Garfield

    Garfield
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. phatdriver

    phatdriver
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Thanx for the advice, nice one, and when I got home (using phone all day to reply) I thought of that too.

    Then read the forum and must let ya know THE TV HAS BEEN UNPLUGED SINCE YESTERDAY and I also just happened to have one of those funny shaped screwdrivers lying around and it was the correct size too...
    I also remember fragments of electronics from school ;o) only frags mind...

    10897 LD1EF1 3.6
    ERR 0 0 0 0 0
    220 255 135 184 240 054 003

    CLEAR = NIGHTMARE CLEAR ?

    DO NOT PUSH RIGHT.
    IF YOU PUSH RIGHT YOU WILL COMPLETELY... ...
    ARE YOU "REALLY" SURE YOU WANT TO PRESS RIGHT?
    Y/NO!!!... <cackle! too late mothe...>

    ANYWAY...
    These numbers are now the same as the ones inside of the box! <woohoo>

    Thanx for reflecting those.
    Unfortunately still no sound.
    I’m thinking it must be in the options AUDIO or as you say may need software reboot! or worse. <sinking feeling>

    By the way, "she" phoned Philips and they told her "...I could get a good repair man or a bad repair man and the price would be up to them!..", after keeping her on the phone for… ERRRRRRR

    NIIICE... How does that sound/work??? Not looking good kiddies.

    I've been a bad wittle boy, and
    The NIGHTMARE has only begun...

    Garfield, Garfield, Garfield,
    YOU made ME laugh, all day!
    STILL LAUGHING...
    and if I get nothing from all this, I'll know who to blame! <laughs>
    Thanx for the links, will look now...
     
  13. Cynthia 7

    Cynthia 7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi phatdriver,

    I never ventured into the service code for my Philips tv but was tempted to, just to look around and see the options. Take a look at my post to Daved on 26/4/05 on page 3, 4 or 5 of this television forum (page number depends on when you look at it.) His thread was "Philips Contrast+ Setting. I searched the archives here and found a warning post from Zacabeb on entering Philips service codes. You can read what happens; needless to say I shall never use the Service Code after reading that.

    Bad luck this has happened to you, and the recalibration of your television needs a professional sorry to say!
     
  14. phatdriver

    phatdriver
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Big job? :rolleyes: :oops:
     
  15. phatdriver

    phatdriver
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    THANX for the links Garfield!
    I HAVE SOUND!!!
    You are my BIGGEST HERO in the world ever!!!

    settings not all the same as mine but pressed a few things,
    luck licked me on the bum and I now now better...

    What an unreal, nightmare.
    THANK YOU too much!

    Someone once told me of a cat called couriosity...

    I should have told them I didnt need any more pets, thank you...

    Garfield: Smile! xxx










    PS what happens now?
     
  16. WYSIWYG-UK

    WYSIWYG-UK
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    A=

    lay of the drugs and keep fidgety fingers aways from service menu :rotfl: :suicide:
     
  17. phatdriver

    phatdriver
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    :eek: <coughs>

    Erm...

    Didnt know this doubled as a psychology forum!
    Thought this was a forum on TVs and the like...

    Good advice though :devil:

    Thanx for comming in!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...