1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My camera can take night shots!

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by electrolyte, Oct 26, 2004.

  1. electrolyte

    electrolyte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,031
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +1,077
    Have just discovered today that my IXUS 430 has a night mode. Means that I could adjust the shutter speed. Set it to 6 secs and took the attached photo. I don't have a tripod so improvised by balancing the camera on a bucket on a wide fence.

    What do you think - I'm pretty proud of the photo but would be interested in some constructive criticism..

    Also would love to see your night shots as well! :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    It's a nice picture mate. If you dont have a tripod stick it on self timer at 10 seconds and leave it on top of something stable (eg car) if you're going to leave the shutter open for 6 secs. It'll stop any blurring that can happen at longer shutter speeds because you wont have to touch it.

    This is the only night shot i have at the minute and its from after i'd been out with tom and steve after the av show, i was hammered:laugh:

    Shutter was 1/30 but the iso was 800
     

    Attached Files:

  3. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    heres 2 night shots i took in san francisco, one is taken from the front of the hostel i was staying at at the sky colour and clouds look brilliant, shame about the car in the foreground really!


    the second is taken of alcatraz island, i cant remember what settings i used for any of them tho!


    camera is an olympus C750
    EDIT: link wouldnt work, uploaded file instead
     

    Attached Files:

  4. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    As a matter of fact simon here's one i took with an ixus 400 using the self timer.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. electrolyte

    electrolyte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,031
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +1,077
    This is a nice photo. Especially after seeing what you looked like after the av show!!

    I used the 10sec delay timer and rested the camera on a bucket on a fence. Was pretty stable but think i need to buy a tripod!
     
  6. electrolyte

    electrolyte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,031
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +1,077
    Like the second one but couldn't get the 1st one to load :confused:
     
  7. mandlebrot

    mandlebrot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also couldn't get the 1st one to load, I got a message saying to use my own bandwidth etc. Like the other pic though
     
  8. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    Keanyboy - was that with your new 20D (I assume it was as I don't think either of your older cameras go to ISO800) - what's noise like on the full size image mate?
     
  9. neilneil

    neilneil
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    720
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    I bought one of those cheap £15 tripods.
    It was one of those little things no bigger than a jar of coffee but it telescopes out to about twice the size.
    It was the best £15 you could spend on a camera for the money.
    Get one of those and it'll improve your snaps no end. Plus if youve got a small camera it doesn't look quite as silly as putting it on a full size tripod :D

    -Neil
     
  10. electrolyte

    electrolyte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,031
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +1,077
    Thanks Neil, where did you get yours from? Had thought of a full-size tripod but as my camera is tiny agree it would look a bit ridiculous :)
     
  11. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    No noise at all at 800 that i can see matey. Its just as you see it there

    A dalylight shot and an indoor shot

    1st pic: Urbis 1/320 F5.6 IS0 800

    2nd pic Diane 1/250 F.5.6 ISO 800

    Infact all the shots of us boozing are at 800.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    fixed it, i had some problems with people stealing my pictures and munching my bandwidth so i put a hotlink blocker on it, fixed now, ive uploaded the picture :oops:
     
  13. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    Theres a fair bit of noise in your photos mr jones, what camera was you using?
     
  14. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22

    its a olympus c750, i do suffer from noise problems alot mainly with my band photography usually due to my shakey hands and having to balance precariously on gaurd rails and speaker stacks.

    i think the noise in those pictures was generated by an very unstable tripod and people walking over the wooden boarding i took the skyline shot from, the noise in the alcatraz shot is photoshop fodder, im not very good in its use! i didnt have the noise reduction setting on on my camera for those shots neither!

    my other problem with it is not really spending much time setting the shot up, i generally dont have much knowledge about photography, i jut set it up to get a half decent image and dont really touch it!

    im always up for pointers tho!
     
  15. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
  16. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    ever tried any band photography?, its hell! your trying to do what the camera hates, lots of movement, dark with ocasional very dtrong lights,


    sometimes the result is excelent tho!
     

    Attached Files:

  17. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah its not easy is it. Not had the chance to take one with my new camera. I took this of beverly knight with my previous camera
     

    Attached Files:

  18. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    i had a task a few months back, i got a photography pass for a very small (600 capacity) sold out embrace gig, i had 2 songs to get my camera work done, wasnt allowed to use the flash the results werent brilliant, but alas got a few shots down...


    im not impressed with them at all really, was really disappointed with myself really
     

    Attached Files:

  19. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think band shots should be a bit raw anyway mate. So is it a hobby?
     
  20. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    i hate them when there just off focus, some out of focus ones look really good, others look terrible, but i like the shots to be totally clear, no motion etc

    kind of yeh, ive done a few proper photoshoots for bands (see http://www.star27.co.uk -) but nothing much has come of it, im too busy with my degree at the moment.

    i just enjoy live music, i enjoy photography so its a nice combination that means i get into gigs for free ;)

    check out the site \/
     
  21. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's pretty cool mate;)

    You're right you really do need a digital slr for the work you're putting in (which i like). I have canon D20, only had it a couple of weeks, and what you're doing would be right up my street.

    Good work fella:)
     
  22. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    yeh i know, but being a student means i have no money at all :mad: which sucks
    maybe when im older ill get one! santa sure as hell aint bringing me one (hes stretching to half a £150 computer program this year so theres no way i can be good enough in the next 2months to get a £700+ camera!)


    its really good fun but you need robust ears to cope with standing right infront of PA stacks and stuff!


    if your in manchester why not pop down to the night and day cafe on the 13th november, my mates band are headlining so im gonna try and take a few shots, should be a good night!
     
  23. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm up for that mate;) normally next door in the dry fri or sat. Not been in night and day for time

    Do you go in the Roadhouse and the Band on wall to?
     
  24. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    nah tend to stick to the preston scene, just cant afford to get into manchester


    should be a cracking night out tho :)
     
  25. neilneil

    neilneil
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    720
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    Electrolyte,
    I got mine from Jessops, It's a Vebon so quite a well known make.
    As I said it was about 15 quid so you shouldn't have any difficulty finding them.
    I recently saw one on holiday in Italy looking very like mine but with a 3 section telescopic leg (they open like the old radio aerials).

    -Neil
     
  26. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    I need a tripod myself but large one. Going to have start looking soon
     
  27. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    i got hold of a rather nice slik telescope one, its built like a tank, expands to eye level! and its really robust so a digicam isnt going to be much of a problem for it!

    luckily my dad hasnt even attempted to use his telescope recently, he's in for a shock.........
     
  28. electrolyte

    electrolyte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,031
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +1,077
    Thanks Neil, will have to take a trip to Jessops to have a look.:)
     
  29. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    I was suprised how cheap the tripods were in jessops
     
  30. Underscore

    Underscore
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got one of these for my Ixus 400:

    http://www.pedcopods.com/specsup1.htm

    Tiny and weighs nothing so you can slip it in your pocket. Combined with self timer, I've taken exposures of many seconds successfully. Particularly useful is the ability to strap it to a fence post or similar when there's no flat space around.

    _
     

Share This Page

Loading...