1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

my 42pe50 doesn't take s-video so how can I watch sky+?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Not A Clue, Sep 10, 2005.

  1. Not A Clue

    Not A Clue
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right, here's a conundrum for you...

    I've just purchased the sony db795 av receiver which is fine and will be picking up my Mission FS1 speakers & Panasonic 42PE50 up in a couple of weeks time.

    I want to connect Sky+ to my sony db795 and can do so through s-video.

    The problem I have is my plasma does not have an s-video input - only has component and scart - so how can I see sky+ :confused:

    btw my av receiver doesn't convert inputs to component as i understand it :(



    :suicide:
     
  2. ukdan

    ukdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +84
    check your manual to see if one of the scart sockets are s-video compatible.
     
  3. Not A Clue

    Not A Clue
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It says on the back of the 42pe50 (just checked in my magazine) s-video under a scart socket - so i think it must be?

    I thought s-video cables were round :confused: ?
     
  4. ukdan

    ukdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +84
    you need a s-video to scart adapter. Available any where.
     
  5. ukdan

    ukdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +84
    Just looked up your av amp.
    Personaly i would use a js-tec rgb(scart) to component converter into the av amp then to the screen. If you have a dvd player with component output you could send that to the amp too.
     
  6. Not A Clue

    Not A Clue
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks mate for your help

    i read somewhere that sky+ isn't component in any way so you CANNOT convert it to component ? Does that sound right?

    Sorry for the additional qs - just trying to understand all this :lesson:
     
  7. ukdan

    ukdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +84
  8. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    I've also looked up the spec of the amp on Sony's web site. It isn't hugely helpful. It appears that it only outputs s-video or composite - there is no mention of component so far as I could see, so Ukdan's suggestion of routing component via the receiver won't work.

    S-video leads are indeed usually the round plugs but s-video can also be sent via a scart socket provided the scart is suitably wired.

    Routing video via an av receiver is usually done to benefit from upconversion to component (which your Sony does't do), to simplify source changing (a learning remote will do it just as well), or to get on-screen menus from the receiver (a cheap s-video lead can be included to permit this even though it will not be the main connection method).

    That sounds confusing having read what I just wrote! What I am trying to say is that you may well be better off sending audio only via the receiver and routing all video direct to the plasma. The PE50 has at least one RGB enabled scart (I think), so forget converters, just get a decent scart lead and plug the Sky + direct into the plasma.
     
  9. ukdan

    ukdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +84
  10. Not A Clue

    Not A Clue
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Guys,

    Thanks for all your help. The sony website isn't great - I've checked the back of the amp and it does do component out (2 in, 1 out) so I guess I can either use a RGB scart > component, or s-video > scart to get around this problem.

    I just read elsewhere that the new sky+ box (the 160) does have component out (though I need to check for sure)...as I haven't yet got sky at the new address I'll check out the possibility of getting this which will also get me around my problem.

    Why isn't life ever simple ? :)

    Great people like yourselves do make it easier though :thumbsup:
     
  11. Not A Clue

    Not A Clue
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    You better tell this to Yamaha - my Yammie amp converts everything to component :)
     
  13. ukdan

    ukdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +84
    Nick whats the pq like when using the amp to upconvert s-video to component?
     

Share This Page

Loading...