1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

musicality: upgrade AV amp or add stereo amp?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by ditton15, Dec 17, 2002.

1. ditton15

ditton15
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am pleased with my entry-level 5.1 amp (denon 1602) for HC (and I am still learning HC) but would like more on the musicality front.

Consider two possible ways to spend £250 - £400 (or even more):

a) Rotel A01 stereo amp or better
    b) Marantz 7300 (for £457, less the £200 ono I could get selling denon 1602) or equivalent

Details may not be quite right, but which way do you advise: better AV amp or additional stereo amp?

I have been sniffing about for an 'old model' stereo amp instead - and would welcome suggestions in that direction also.

ditton

ps I also want a 'learning remote', and wonder whether getting one with an expensive AV amp is any way comparable with the Pronto route?

Comments please.

2. GaryG

GaryG
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    You will get a better sound quality for music by using a normal stereo amplifier, look for a good used stereo amp and have a direct connection from your CD/DVD player to the stereo amp. The proviso is that your AV amp supports line-level outputs for the L/R channels so that you can bypass your AV amp and use your stereo amp for the L/R channels.

3. ditton15

ditton15
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks for the general advice - go for a stereo amp - which seems be in agreement with what I have read on other threads.