Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Multiroom question

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by griff_av, Oct 16, 2005.

  1. griff_av

    griff_av
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi any knowledge on this would be helpful.
    I'm renting a studio apartment from my landlord, we share the same house and are under the same council tax, the only difference being that my flat has seperate services including phone line. The landlord suggested we put in multiroom on his sky contract for me - does anyone know if this is possible?
    I just thought a question here might be easier than a phone call to customer services... ;)
     
  2. Noggin1980

    Noggin1980
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6,820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,174
    When installing out multiroom this week we were told that the 2 boxes have to be on the same phone line. The engineer took a line out of the house and back in at the front to use the same line as the main box dispite there being a phone right next to the second box.

    so the answer is probably no, It's possible you could find ways around it though, if you ran a phoneline from your flat and attached the new box to the same phone number as the first.
     
  3. griff_av

    griff_av
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok so I suppose the next question is if I did run a phone line extension would the engineer be cool with that or would he take one look at what we're doing and refuse to install multiroom? I know thats a hard question to answer but if anyones done it...
     
  4. Geofbob

    Geofbob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +304
    So long as the connection could be made to your landlord's phone rather than yours, I don't see that the Sky engineer would be interested in your living arrangements. After all, you could be a close relative who simply wants his/her own BT line.
     
  5. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,035
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    if you have your own front door then the Sky guy will most likely not do a multiroom....

    if however you can make it look like you just share a flat and tell the landlord to go with the story, then you can probably get away with it, you just need to run a cable up to your room for the phoneline first.....just log on and go to www.maplin.co.uk (i think thats the addy, if not just search for maplins) and get a phone extension chord however long you need, doesnt need to be attached to the wall, just needs to be an extension that works...

    oh if he see your own separate number phone box, tell him that one doesnt work...or even stick a table in front of it or something..lol.....
     
  6. griff_av

    griff_av
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    right no problem, thanks guys, now just to figure out where to get a table big enough to hide my kitchen... ;)
     
  7. Jules1975

    Jules1975
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would it be feasible to get the Sky gut to fit multiroom to another room in your landlord's part of these house, then extend the cable and phone line to your flat yourself after he has gone?
     
  8. Daddy k

    Daddy k

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,081
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,345
    fingers croosed nick uk doesnt reed this, or ul all get a telling off! :nono:

    :rotfl:
    (see "cancelling sky"ul get the idea)
     
  9. griff_av

    griff_av
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Krismc > god* yeah I just read that tirade. However, if he is without sin then let him stone away - if he isnt, then I hope he gets the full brunt of whatever library/parking/speeding/etc fine that he has maliciously run up.

    Jules > I did consider this - is it easy enough to buy cables for the satellite feed?

    *apologies for the blasphemy
     
  10. Jules1975

    Jules1975
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cables should be easy to get, other people on here will know exact specs.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice