Multiroom HD in third room

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by FZR400RRSP, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,036
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,367
    We already have HD in the living room and main bedroom.
    Looking to get it in a third room, which is being converted into a cinema room.
    If I'm understanding the SKY website properly, they want a whopping £199 for the box + £60 installation + £ 10.25 a month.:eek:
    What if I source the HD box myself, and maybe get the cabling done myself?
    Any problems with that?
    I'd then just need a new viewing card from SKY @ £10.25 a month?
    :confused:
    I find £199 for a box extremely hard to swallow when I'm already a damned good customer.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2012
  2. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,829
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    You will also need an octo LNB.
     
  3. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,036
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,367
    Pretty sure I have one already.
    We're already using 5 ports (2 x HD + 1 x freeview in kitchen)
    Should be 3 left.
     
  4. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,829
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    OK, you are right in your original supposition then.
     
  5. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,036
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,367
    Thanks.
    Do they have any issues sending out a new viewing card if you've sourced the boxes and cabling yourself?
    I'm used to upgrading boxes and 'pairing' cards, but never had to ask for a viewing card only.
     
  6. Broadz

    Broadz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,423
    Nope, just ask for a second hand contract multiroom card. This means that Sky provide the card without providing the hardware. Then pair the card with the box at the same time you activate it.
     
  7. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    It would be fine, why not?
    None at all, why would there be?
    Correct.
    So do I but there's no need to, so ask Sky, emphasising the good customer, and they'll give you a better price.
    Freeview is nothing to do with the LNB or the dish.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2012
  8. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,036
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,367
    SKY freeview.
    Sorry if that's not the correct term, maybe freesat is more accurate?
    It's a single feed digibox in the kitchen, with only a handful of channels.
    We don't have any other reception equipment on the house, only the dish.
     
  9. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,055
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +589
    Reading his explanation maybe he means freesat and not freeview?

    Dal
     
  10. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    Very probably.
     
  11. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,036
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,367
    My mistake, I'm not au-fait with 'council telly'.:)
     
  12. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    That's OK and it can be confusing.
    Sky freeview is a contradiction in terms - Sky is satellite, Freeview is terrestrial.
    Freesat is the registered name of the service that provides an EPG for free channels on the 28E satellite that pay to be on it, and does so only on machines approved by the organisation.
    FreeSatFromSky works only with Sky machines and for a one-off payment of £25 gives you a few more channels than you'd get without it, and without any subscription.
    Any satellite receiver should produce hundreds rather than a handful of free channels.
    Freeview is the registered name of the service that provides an EPG for the free channels that are on the digital terrestrial TV transmitters.
    There are only a relative handful of those, around fifty after full DSO.
     
  13. Morley

    Morley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,921
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ely
    Ratings:
    +68
    If you order the freesat card online its only £20 as they have not updated the site with the price yet.:smashin:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 12, 2012
  14. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
  15. rallymarshall

    rallymarshall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    i was in the same position, so i ended up buying a receiver off fleabay and just got the card off sky
     
  16. Stuey1

    Stuey1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,069
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,123
    I just upgraded my sky+ multiroom box to a new 1TB HD box and they also quoted me £199 + Delivery + Installation.

    By ringing them up i got the price down to £50 + Delivery and i was able to install myself (but i had no new wires to install), maybe you could get them tp lower the price if you call up :smashin:
     
  17. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,557
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,327

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice