1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiregion DVD software

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by jGrahamD, Nov 7, 2003.

  1. jGrahamD

    jGrahamD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is multiregion DVD playback software readily available now?
     
  2. Bursar

    Bursar
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    2,405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +216
    The playback software (such as PowerDVD, WinDVD and so-on) doesn't really care what region the DVD is.

    If your drive is region free, then you're most of the way there. All you need is something like Region Killer installed as well and you're sorted.

    Windows will only let you change the DVD region 5 times. After that it locks at the last region you selected. Region Killer gets around this by fooling Windows into thinking that the region has been set.
     
  3. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
  4. jGrahamD

    jGrahamD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I think my aging Pioneer DVD rom drive is probably region locked, but I can probably update the firmware. I will probably replacie it wit a DVD burner. Do these tend to be region locked? As for the comment about a moderator removing links, is multi-region software a taboo subject? It does seem strange, since most standalone players are multiregion. Nevertheless, if this is the case then I apologise for starting the thread.
     
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Yes, burners are region locked generally. Note that ALL DVD drives have to be region locked at point of manufacture, that's a basic requirement of the license the manufacturers sign with the DVD Forum .. aka. the music/film indistry cartel. The fact that we can buy them region-free is due to third-parties unlocking them. Often this merely activates 'hidde' key sequences which are included in the drives for diagnostic and other purposes, Joe Public is never meant to know they're there.

    My comments about link removal are based on the fact that this software is technically illegal due to the new copyright law foisted on us by the EU/US/MPAA/RIAA which makes it a crime, punishable by imprisonment according to some, to use a 'circumvention device' to overcome the customer-hostile restrictions imposed by the pigopolists in the MPAA and RIAA.

    Many PC DVD drives can be unlocked by flashing a new, cracked BIOS, these can be found in many places, one being here.
     
  6. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    you can use dvddecrypter to rip your files to your PC and remove region encoding (any region disk on any region drive) and play the vob files through a software player.
     
  7. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not if the drive is region locked to a different region you can't ;)

    Decrypter needs access to the disc, access it can't have if region protection is in operation.
     
  8. TEK

    TEK
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. Underscore

    Underscore
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been running this since I built my PC and it has allowed me to play my R1 and R3 discs with zero hassle. Admittedly I don't have any RCE discs but, if you want a simple way of playing all regions, I am happy to recommend it.

    _
     
  10. jGrahamD

    jGrahamD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks, when I get my projector, I'll give the 21 day trial a go. On another note, Underscore, I see that you are using Theatertek. I'm hesitant to buy this, especially as it costs more that a standalone DVD player now. Do you think the cost is justified? Would you say the image is any sharper than the likes of PowerDVD and WinDVD?
     
  11. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    TT produces a considerably sharper, clearer image than PowerDVD XP 5 on my AE300 on a 92" screen.

    Recently I had cause to play part of X-Men 1.5 on both, the scene where Wolverine is shown the hangar underground if you know the film. There's a shot from behind the aircraft's wing, which on TT was sharp and well defined, whereas PDVD seemed out of focus and more 'grainy'.

    PDVD is great on PC monitors, that's what it's developed for, it loses a lot on the large screen, mainly down to the inferior MPEG decoder it uses.

    I dislike intensly their refusal to provide a demo version, but that's how it is, though I've never read anyone complain they failed to get a refund if they requested it prior to activating at the end of the 7-day 'grace' period.
     
  12. jGrahamD

    jGrahamD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I was afraid you were going to say something like that. Looks like another £43 going.
     
  13. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    :D ... well you could always use PowerDVD and see how you get on with it .. also your comment about TT being more expensive than a stand-alone player begs the question: just what quality is that player. ;)
     
  14. Underscore

    Underscore
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    TBH, the reason I use TT is that the user interface is so good. I do have WinDVD installed - came free with my motherboard - but I only really use it for playing back recordings made using the DigiTV. Have watched bits of DVDs with it but my version lacks things like deinterlacing control and only has rudimentary aspect-ratio control so I've never considered it as an alternative to TT. The picture from TT is stunning, so I happy with it.

    Is the cost justified? Ultimately, HTPC is still niche so TT can't have a huge market; I guess £43 ain't so bad considering that. Also Zoomplayer is, I think, £20 now without including the filters so, again, £43 doesn't sound too bad. Let's consider the software I've bought for my two PCs recently:

    MS win2k OEM: ~£100
    TT 1.5: $70 (~£43)
    DVDRegionFree: $40 (~£25)
    Jasc PaintShopPro 8: £53

    Based on that I would say that DVDregionFree is expensive for what it does but TT looks to be about right for a product of its nature.

    HTH,

    _
     
  15. jGrahamD

    jGrahamD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've been looking at various wireless remote devices to control the PC from another room. Most cordless mice seem to have a very low range, whereas the range on cordless gamepads is much longer. Assuming you can map gamepad keys to the keyboard, could TT be controlled using such a device? (OK, so it might not look cool)
     
  16. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Out of interest, what made you choose this over AnyDVD? I see AnyDVD has started to support the ripping of protected audio CDs.
     
  17. SeaneyC

    SeaneyC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +54
    Have you looked at the Gyration range of products? The range on those devices is really good, way more than is needed for most people.
     
  18. jGrahamD

    jGrahamD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes I have looked at the Gyration mouse. The problem is, I'm about to spend £1200 on a projector, so for the moment have a limited budget for accessories. A cordless gamepad is £29 and has a range of about 5m. It may not be elegant, but if it works it would be better than rushing upstairs (computer is located in room above projector).
     
  19. Underscore

    Underscore
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just that I had never heard of AnyDVD until this thread! When I was looking, only DVDRegionFree seemed to get mentioned...

    _
     
  20. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I use an ATI Remote Wonder which isn't the most popular remote device but there's a TT plug-in which works fine ... distance is several metres AFAICR.
     
  21. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Okay :), just wondered since they both do a very similar job, not sure if there isn't some common ancestry. AnyDVD hasn't been around too long and it took a while to stabalise, works well now and has some nice features like being able to run external programs based on the type of media inserted, change video resolution/refreshes etc.
     
  22. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought this would be the case as well, but I tried it and it worked for me! I just got a message saying that the region code of the DVD software and hardware didn't match so the decrypting process was just going to take a little longer. I was as shocked and in as much disbelief as you probably will be! :smashin:
     
  23. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Have to say I thought DD works on mis-matched regions, it uses brute force to crack the key if this is the case, but couldn't test it. :)
     
  24. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Never tried the "brute force" method.

    Decrypter always notifies me if the region is mismatched so I just change the region - drives all firmware flashed to RPC1.

    Will check it out later :)
     
  25. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went to the bulldozer school of delicacy appreciation, and brute force is the first lecture!
     

Share This Page

Loading...