1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiple HDMI sources

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by drdavewatford, Jul 30, 2005.

  1. drdavewatford

    drdavewatford
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi folks,

    I'm delighted with the performance of my DVD player through an HDMI connection to my Pioneer plasma.

    As a gaming fan, I'll certainly get the XBOX 360 later this year and the PS3 next year, both of which output high def via HDMI.

    Problem is, the Pioneer only has 1 HDMI socket, and I don't want to be unplugging and plugging leads the whole time.

    Does anyone know of a way of getting multiple HMDI sources into one socket without discernible degradation of the signal ?

    Thanks,

    Dr. D.
     
  2. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    New AV amps will have HDMI switching. All your HDMI devices go into the amp and one cable goes to your TV.
     
  3. drdavewatford

    drdavewatford
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great suggestion, but unfortunately won't work for me - my Denon 2805 AV receiver (pretty new, so I won't be replacing it in the foreseeable future) doesn't have HDMI inputs (or an output) to my knowledge.

    I suspect I might need some kind of powered multi-input HDMI switching box, but am concerned that the signal degradation will be such that I lose the picture quality. This has certainly been the case with some boxes I've tried which allow me to run 2 or 3 computers off the same monitor.

    Dr. D.
     
  4. alixy007

    alixy007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    well, a Video processor like Lumagen Vision PRO HDP which not only has 2 HDMI inputs and 2 SDI inputs but it also processes both analogue and digital signal. The other option is just to get a HDMI-Switcher which has just 2 HDMI inputs.

    http://www.progressive-av.co.uk/accessories/HDMI-Switcher.htm


    Ali
     
  5. drdavewatford

    drdavewatford
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks. Seriously expensive, though. Anyone have any experience of this particular brand ? I've seen too many claims of "great picture quality" and "no interference or loss of signal" with PC monitor switching boxes over the years to take the manufacturers word for this....

    Ta,

    Dr. D.
     
  6. av2diefor

    av2diefor
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. drdavewatford

    drdavewatford
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers - I'll eventually need 4-into-1 when Xbox 360, PS3 & HD SKY are available (!), but this will do me in November when the Xbox 360 arrives anyway !

    Dr. D.
     
  8. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +375
    there is no hdmi socket on the launch xboxes ... I guess they'll have the circuitry on the microsoft propritory connector that will split out into hdmi with a new lead sometime next year ... they have said in interviews that "as hi-def is not a gaming issue" it is not a priority though ...

    Jon
     
  9. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    When are these new amps with HDMI switching availible. At the moment I have my pc connected via DVI, but what with HD SKY and XBOX360 out very soon I will need to replace my amp asap. :rolleyes:
     
  10. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +375
    There are some out there at the moment but only top end models from Denon, etc ... Arcam have their new AV processor with 3xhdmi ...

    with no hdmi for launch xbox 360's and launch skyHD boxes with component outputs you can afford to wait a while and see what pans out ...

    Jon
     
  11. baldrick

    baldrick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Providence, Rhode Island
    Ratings:
    +247
    I thought one of the launch features of the 360 was hi-def!?!?!?!? Everygame that is being writtend for it is hi-def so they must be offering connectivity!?!?!?!
     
  12. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    Games will be in High Def which can easily be carried on component.
    The use of HDMI is to gain access to it's content protection facilities provided by HDCP and it's the movie studios who want that to protect their HD movies.
    The Xbox360 can not play HD movies on HD-DVD or Blu-Ray so doesn't need anything but component, at least not the initial hardware spec.
     
  13. James B

    James B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Component's all they've talked about (and VGA), which is why all the speculation about Xbox 360 including a HD-DVD drive for launch seemed pointless to me, as the only way they'd be able to include it, is if they included HDMI and HDCP as well, which wasn't in the specification, and would probably have to be included at a hardware level to satisfy the HD-DVD people.

    Not to say they couldn't add it in the future though.

    James.
     
  14. kingsize

    kingsize
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,038
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +49
    Does anyone know if you can get a component doubler/splitter?

    e.g to connect dvd and xbox360 to component?
     
  15. Shakey_Jake33

    Shakey_Jake33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Slightly OT, but could I connect the 360 to my DVI port using an adaptor, assuming the port is DVI-I? Would there be any advantage to using the VGA support over the Component?
     
  16. pjskel

    pjskel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +124
    Component switchers are available - 2,3,4:1 versions. Alternatively, good AV Amp with component inputs. Will switch the audio to correspond to image being viewed.

    Don't believe that's the case, since (I believe) the DVI is D and not I, therefore it's a digital signal with HDCP.
    Don't also believe the VGA is going to give you anything extra that the component cables and connection does.
    I'm sure quality will vary from brand to brand on that one, and there'll be an element of "suck it and see".
     
  17. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,464
    Hello all

    drdavewatford - lots of options for switching and distributing Multiple Digital AV sources. Zektor provide DVI (with HDCP) + Digital/Analogue Audio products.

    See http://www.zektor.com/dvs51/index.html

    Gefen provide DVI and HDMI Video along with HDMI with Digital and or Analogue Audio products. You can have 2:1, 4:1, 2:2, 4:2, 6:2 and even 8:2 Switching+ Distribution solutions.

    http://www.gefen.com/kvm/hometheater.jsp

    Video quality through these products is very good - though HDCP and signal management can be fun at times depending on the generation of Digital transmitters/receivers used in your source and Display devices.

    Always ensure you can send the kit back before you plump for any solution - HDMI and DVI is definitely NOT Plug & Play :)

    kingsize - if all you require is a 2:1 YUV Switcher then a JS Technology 'Master Component Controller' will do the trick for around £50.00 - if you need something more sophisticated then a Zektor HDS4 or HDS4.2 will switch up to four YUV with IR or RS232 control

    See http://www.zektor.com/hds42/index.html

    Shakey_Jake33 - I think I'd stick with a 'proper' analogue input for YUV or RGB as the type of cable you can get into a DVI-I socket is pretty skinny or you have to revert to lots of adapters.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  18. GalileoFigaro

    GalileoFigaro
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I almost started a new thread called 'HDMI vs DVI' but thought better of it.

    Anyway, all this HDMI / DVI business is fairly complicated - and difficult partly because it is new and only theoretical to those of us who haven't taken 'the plunge' yet.

    So, at the risk of making this are even more difficult to understand can I ask what the 'pros' and 'cons' are for buying a TV with just a HDMI input vs one with just a DVI input (both HDCP of course)?

    Previously I've discounted those LCD TVs with just the DVI thinking that HDMI is inherently better but now I'm not so sure.

    TIA. :thumbsup:
     
  19. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    If you follow the strict specs. HDMI has more video possibilities than DVI - as HDMI also supports YCrCb 4:2:2 at more than 8 bits, and 4:4:4 YCrCb at 8 bits.

    DVI is, I think, RGB 4:4:4 8bit only - following the standard - though there is a possibility that some DVI implementations also include modes that are extra...
     
  20. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,464
    GalileoFigaro

    I'm afraid to say it gets even more complicated than you would wish for :)

    HDMI will become the standard Digital Home Theatre interconnect for the next couple of generations of Consumer kit; though there are other options on the horizon!!!

    HDMI (V1.1) has the ability to carry Digital Video + Stereo or Multi-channel audio; though note there is a sub set of the HDMI spec called V1.0 that doesn't offer the Multi-channel audio. A lot of the first generation HDMI Displays are HDMI V1.0.

    DVI is a Video Only connection - originating in the PC market its not designed for long cable runs.

    Now the really tricky bit - HDMI adds HDCP encryption to the Digital Video and Audio feed and if you have an HDMI equipped source and a DVI equipped Display you require the Display to be HDCP enabled.

    Now it gets really tricky - some manufacturers have stared to produce kit with DVI sockets on that use HDMI Receiver/transmitter technology behind the DVI socket; which means you can get unexpected results when connecting various combination of kit together.

    My advice with all of this is don't buy anything site unseen unless you have the option to return it and/or you supplier can assure you they have had whatever combination of kit you want working.

    As you are in the UK I'd also suggest at this time that any Display device you purchase should carry the 'HD Ready' logo to ensure you are compatible with current and planned SD and HD signals for the next few years at least.

    Having the 'HD Ready' logo ensures the Digital video inputs on a Display are HDCP enabled by default.

    Best regards

    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...