1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multiple HDMI connections?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by handles9, Mar 2, 2005.

  1. handles9

    handles9
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, here's somethign I don't understand. I've been congratulating myself on buying a Pio 504 last year that looks like it'll be fine for Sky HiDef. But I already use the HDMI connection with the input from my 868 DVD player.... How does HDMI work in this situation? can you stuff mutliple inputs into a single connector through an adapter? Can you daisychain HDMI through the as yet unannounced Sky box? how is this likely to work? Or should we all be waiting for Plasmas with 3 HDMI inputs?

    STu
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    You've just had a lucid moment, mate. AV recievers will become available with HDMI inputs, the new Marantz and Okyo big boys have it
     
  3. handles9

    handles9
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So my new denon is going to need replacing next year... :) oh god, it never ends...
     
  4. graham w

    graham w
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It never ends!
    Should be a good source for video switching tho.
     
  5. superpixel

    superpixel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. handles9

    handles9
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats cool - I was worried soemthing like that wouldn't be able to work with HDCP....
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    The gefen works perfectly, it also costs 1/2 as much as an amp upgrade, and is another box on your shelf, and it will need controlling. If you have a Crestron system or even a Pronto, I'm sure that's not an issue. But hey, if you had crestron, upgrading the amp wouldn't be an issue!!
     
  8. Bacus

    Bacus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    6,791
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Close to the sea
    Ratings:
    +1,432
    can you please give your view on the NEC 42VR5.
    As a retailer/installer do you deal with these screens ? any info would be helpfull :lease:
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    The SD NEC panels are OK, not bad at all. Recently had a total shock with the HD model. My installers like NEC plasmas, there are so many connections. The only real drawback for us is that the connections are at the side, not centre bottom, so you have to allow for that at the prewire stage.
     
  10. Bacus

    Bacus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    6,791
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Close to the sea
    Ratings:
    +1,432
    What was your shock with the panel mate ? I am told these screens are HD ready ? I and weighing up between one of these and the hitachi 42pd5200. Other kit i have is Sky didgy box, cambridge audio dvd57,denon AVR3803. Would you recomd this screen ?
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    The SD one, whilst not a firm favourite of mine, seems to have a group of satisfied owners. The 5200 has the same issues as a panasonic re future proofing, it has HDCP but won't accept 720/50Hz, and it clips off a chunk of the picture, deliberate overscan, on 1080I at any frequency. The NEC is known to accept 720/50. The HD one was simply awful in every way. I had one on loan, and sent it back as faulty. The next one was just as bad, and after conferring with some other forum members, it seems they're all like it.
     
  12. Bearded_Malc

    Bearded_Malc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    For views on the VR5 why not look at the VR5 thread ?
     
  13. Bacus

    Bacus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    6,791
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Close to the sea
    Ratings:
    +1,432
    ok thanks for that
     

Share This Page

Loading...