Multiple hard drives with laptop

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by markgodley, Aug 25, 2018.

  1. markgodley

    markgodley
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    I have about 3-5 old internal hard drives (data) from my old desktop computer - all range from about 500gb -2tb.

    I’m looking for a cheap solutions for storing them (ideally together) and being able to connect to my laptop from time to time (mainly going to be photo storage for my photography).

    I’ve had a look on amazon and the only thing I can really find is some racks but they range from £70-150+.

    Seems expensive for a rack and power?

    Any suggestions?

    Obviously there are single enclosures, but these all need their own power supplies
     
  2. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,768
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +443
    I use this:

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Inateck-Do...UTF8&qid=1535202876&sr=8-9&keywords=hdd+caddy

    Obviously it's only two bay but finding a 5 bay one (if it exists, won't be cheap unless you look at the proper DAS enclosures). If you actually need all the drives connected at once I'd consider buying a large HDD and copying the files across to it. 500GB is tiny when talking about a hard drive now a days.

    This one has the benefit of offline cloning as well. Great for making 1-1 backups. Simply insert a blank drive into bay B and the current one into Bay A and hit clone. No PC needed.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2018
  3. markgodley

    markgodley
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    Awesome this looks ideal, thanks
     
  4. gbjbaanb

    gbjbaanb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    703
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +334
    TBH I'd buy a cheap desktop PC (one with a large case) and stick all the drives in it. then I'd stick the case in the attic or back bedroom and attach to it via wifi.
     
  5. markgodley

    markgodley
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    Wonder if i could pick your brain on this.

    I was just about to buy this, then noticed something in the comments. People are saying the clone drive in B must be bigger than in in bay A.

    Obviously i understand why - makes sense... but... say i have 2x 500gb drives and formatted the same, they could vary ever so slightly in sizing due to being different makes.

    I.e.
    Drive A 465gb remaining after format
    Drive B 462gb remaining after format

    So if i filled the drive fully in A it wouldn't clone to drive B as there isn't enough space.

    However, if i was to say fill Drive A with 440gb (leaving a little free space to be safe) worth of data then cloned, i assumed this would be Ok and the clone would work?

    Hope this makes sense!
     

Share This Page

Loading...