1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

multiple amps

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by scouse, Jan 23, 2003.

1. scouse

scouse

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    If you have an AV receiver with pre-outs for front, rear and centre, what is stopping you from having a separate amp for each speaker set??

I am guessing you'd have to alter the volume on each amp everytime you wanted to alter the overall volume....

(Can you tell i'm new to this?)

2. GaryG

GaryG
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    You can use multiple power amps without problem, the volume will still be controlled by the receiver.

3. scouse

scouse

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks for the reply Gary

Is it preferable then to have say 3 additional amps on each speaker set than to have only one additional amp on the two front speakers?

4. GaryG

GaryG
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Difficult one to answer.

If money was no object then the anwser would be yes, however, in the real world most people have a financial limit.

For many films, the output is mainly from the centre channel followed by effects using the Left/Right channels and effects using the rear channels.

On that basis, having amps on the rear channels and not on the front channels for example would not be making the best use of the resources.