Multichannel power amp recommendation

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by kevshed, Nov 10, 2004.

  1. kevshed

    kevshed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +98
    Hi Guys,

    Looking for a 7 Channel Power AMP that can recieve 7 analogue channel inputs from a pc output. Objective is to let PC do all DD/DTS/DVDA decode. Rather than pay for unneccessary processing in a reciever.

    This is a work project, not home, so please no flaming about PCs as sources.

    Any recommendations?

    Thx
    Kev
     
  2. Keiron

    Keiron
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    3,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +113
    I'm all in favour of using PC as a source - I have all my CDs stored as wav files (but will perhaps convert to Apple Lossless) and connected to an external processor. It is significantly better than any CD system I've ever had, and there are good technicla reasons for this too I believe.
    Anyway, you're likely to open up more choice by going for a 5 channel amd and a stereo amp (you only need power amps of course if you're using the PC as the pre). That's if you really must have 7 channels. That way you could have better quality front left and right if that mattered. Personally, I'd investigate the Rotel range (which is what I use). No nonsense, bombproof, good sound and great value.
     
  3. kevshed

    kevshed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +98
    was looking at the Rotels, thanks a lot for the post. Will go and investigate :) Thx
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,969
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,333
    kevshed

    The Flying Mole Digital amps should be on your hot list - or not so hot in this case; these are seriously efficient amplifiers that take up minimal space and draw little or no current when idle (or running at full tilt).

    You can look at the 'stand alone' alone DAD-M100Pro modules or the 'hot swappable' cascade series; if one channel dies you simple swap it out for a good one!!!

    See http://www.flyingmole.co.jp/en/products/dadm100pro/index.html

    and

    http://www.flyingmole.co.jp/en/products/dpam1616/index.html

    Any questions please shout.

    Joe
     
  5. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,969
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,333
  6. AndoverRed

    AndoverRed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +5
    Joe,

    How much is the cascade series?

    Mark
     
  7. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,969
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,333
    Andover Red

    The Flying Mole Cascade Series have the following UK SRP's - we can work out an AV Forum's Special price if your interested.

    DPA-M16 19" Chassis - £896.30
    DPA-M16u2 160/4ohm 2Ch module - £640.21
    DPA-M30u1 300/4ohm single Ch module - £640.21
    DPA-1U Blank module panel - £17.07

    You can populate the rack with up to 8 x 2Ch modules.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  8. AndoverRed

    AndoverRed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +5
    Joe,

    I assume these are same beast as the standalone moles but in a modular chassis?

    I have tried a couple of standalone moles and quite liked the sound.

    Mindyou, it will set you back £1,500 to get going (power the fronts)!

    Mark
     
  9. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,969
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,333
    AndoverRed

    Yes the Flying Mole DAD-M100 and Cascade Series share the same circuitry so yes intrinsically they are the same product with the same 'sound' - this article from Widescreen Review is well worth a read.

    See http://www.flyingmole.co.jp/en/whats_new/040916_03_1.html

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  10. jfinnie

    jfinnie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +1,797
    Hrmmmm... certainly not a flame, but you should bear in mind that:

    As far as I know, the only readily available soundcard (including the likes of the Delta 1010s) that has analogue volume control circuitry AFTER the D-A converters is the Terratec Aureon 7.1. (It's integrated into the Wolfson WM8770 codec - I know as I just designed a soundcard based around this!)

    Why is this important?

    If you plug any card that doesn't have an analogue volume control into a power amp directly, and you try to vary the volume down to an acceptable level (assuming you'll end up going for something with upwards of 100 watts per channel) the volume control will be achieved, not using a nice high quality resistor, (analogue tech!) but by throwing bits of data away, purely in the digital domain. This has an awful effect on the audio quality.

    AV amps work by either having a stupidly large 7/8 gang potentiometer, a high quality digitally controlled (but still analogue!) volume control IC such as a Cirrus CS3310 (about $9 a pop last time I asked Cirrus!), or being completely digital.

    Good luck with your project though, sounds fun!

    J.
     
  11. kevshed

    kevshed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +98
    Good Point.... guess i need to try this first. All plans on hold until i can confirm it will work ! :) Many Thx
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice