Multi room sky with boxes in different locations

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Mulley1980, Apr 4, 2016.

  1. Mulley1980

    Mulley1980
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Sunderland
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi

    I'm currently working on a project where the customer already has multi room in place but wants to move the boxes to one location

    I'm looking for a little guidance on what's best way to do this so they can still use sky from a different room. Turnip handles over etc

    I've been told cat6 can be used for this has anyone done this. Is there any flaws in it ?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    Hi and welcome to the forum.
    Do you mean he wants both machines in the same room?
     
  3. Mulley1980

    Mulley1980
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Sunderland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Yeah all machines are to be placed in one room (utility cupboard)

    TVs in kitchen livin room bedrooms etc
     
  4. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    The cables from the dish need to be re-located to the machines.
    How many TVs and how are they linked to the machines now?
     
  5. Mulley1980

    Mulley1980
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Sunderland
    Ratings:
    +0
    The dish and boxes have already been positioned in the new location


    There's 3 TVs. All will have a separate sky box. It's the physical turning them over from other rooms which has me
     
  6. crockett

    crockett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    624
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +134
    To have all the boxes located in one location and still be able to control them independently you'd need something like THIS
     
  7. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    So there are THREE Sky machines now?
    Having them all in the same place certainly complicates their control!
     
  8. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Do you require HD on the Tvs, Im assuming so, otherwise you are losing quality by locating them centrally.

    So is each TV purely dedicated to one sky box ?
     
  9. Mulley1980

    Mulley1980
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Sunderland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I require he go all TVs

    Each tv has its own sky box
     
  10. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    In that case 3 x HDBaseT (HDMI over Single Cat6) Extenders one for each box

    These also carry the IR signal and as each box is dedicated to one TV you just need to position the IR transmitters so they only control the correct SKybox.

    HDBaseT Extender Set with IR POC and 4K2K Support

    We do have some lower cost clearance ones but literally only 3 left
    Triax HDBaseT Lite Extender Receiver Kit - HDMI over single CAT5e 6 7 upto 60m with IR Control Sale Limited Stock

    A more flexible way but considerably more expensive is using a 4x4 HDBaseT Matrix, this way any TV could watch any of the Sky Boxes in any combination.

    Professional 4x4 HDBaseT Matrix with 4 Receivers - 4K2K Version limited stock
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice