1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

multi region X BOX ?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by Rindless, Sep 30, 2002.

1. Rindless

Rindless

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm new to this gaming stuff, but have heard the X-BOX plays dvd's well, with RGB output too.

Is there a CD ( like the PS2 region X ) that can be used to make the X BOX multiregion ?

Is it true that the X box plays DVD-R/DVD-RW and DVD+R/DVD+RW discs ?

Where's the cheapest on-line site for the X box ?

2. owain_thomas

owain_thomas

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +81
    Yes it's true that you can make the xbox multi region. There is a disk called regionX which allows you to do it, amazon have it for £17.99 http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B000063S36/ref=sr_aps_videogames_1_1/026-8412692-2902866

MOST Xboxes will recognise MOST DVD-R/Ws and DVD+R/Ws, this really comes down to the type of DVD drive that is in the xbox, some people have really good ones which will read anything, others have naff ones which won't. There's no way of telling other than buying an xbox and having a go, no particular date or place of manufacture is better than another, it's just pot luck.

The price of the regionX disk is a little steep if you ask me, you'd be better buying an xbox with a modchip installed www.baldbouncer.co.uk these allow you to run "backed-up" games as well as home written prgrams such DVDX 2, this is a dvd player that doesn't need the offical MS infra red dongle to play dvds. They are also effectively region free machines once they are chipped. The cost of a pre-modified Xbox is £220, the official dvd play back kit and the regionx disk are nearly £40 together. [Illegal suggestion moderated]