1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

multi lnb

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by hugmaks, Feb 22, 2012.

  1. hugmaks

    hugmaks Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +4
    hi , wandering if anyone could help me. im wanting to get a multi lnb setup so i can get viasat for the epl becuase they still have it in English while still keeping nova jsc. this is the dish i have. i was looking at this multi lnb kit , any one know if that would fit on my dish, if not what would you recommend.
    thanks
    hugmaks
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2012
  2. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    4,605
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +748

    It would do it all ... unless it's Viasat HD on a genuine card paired box - SD Viasat will be OK but I'd aim the whole dish at 4.8e & have 13e in offset ... not in love with that brand of dish btw.. and although the Inverto bullet lnbs look good - they are not a cheap option at that price for just a few sats & you will still suffer either lower signals or require a bigger dish should you try to go to the azimuth spread limits they quote.
     
  3. hugmaks

    hugmaks Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks for the reply Pedro,are there any other lnbs that are similar to the Inverto bullet lnbs that are cheaper?
     
  4. ant_thomas

    ant_thomas Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    Why not buy the bits separately? Do you need 5 LNBs?
     
  5. hugmaks

    hugmaks Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +4
    it works out cheaper if you buy it as as a kit rather than separately.
     
  6. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,220
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +877
    So your gonna be using all 5 and need the slim ones?

    For 4.8 and 13 you'd be fine using normal LNBs at what £10 each if that... then add some universal brackets again just under £10 so say £30 all in?
     
  7. ant_thomas

    ant_thomas Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34

    What kevkbuk sums up what I thought!
     
  8. logiciel

    logiciel Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    49,971
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,915
    It looks like being roughly twice as much as it would be as separate components.
     
  9. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    4,605
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +748
    Bullet/ narrow style lnbs do carry a price premium, but as others have said, you don't seem to need them unless you have plans to have a bigger multi lnb setup than 4.8e + 13e .... then they will allow close satellites & in that case you could then add standard lnbs & use the narrow lnbs mostly for the very close sats [<6 degree?] ... say 8 lnbs or more in total but an 80 has it's limits there & will result on low numbers the further out, especially with weak satellites being low or too low.

    A nice project nevertheless if done well.
     
  10. hugmaks

    hugmaks Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +4
    hmm... well i want to keep the channels on 19.2e aswell as hotbird and getting this new one. thanks for all the advice guys.
     
  11. Ghostleader

    Ghostleader Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,361
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Glasgow'ish!
    Ratings:
    +319
    I would have thought that Viasat would be impossible on a 80cm dish mate if your in the North of the country.
     
  12. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    4,605
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +748
    might have helped if one knew it was Aberdeen :D.... but it might go the other way or not actually drop off a cliff on the Nordic beam if you look at the footprint... some other sats might be an issue in offset..

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Ghostleader

    Ghostleader Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,361
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Glasgow'ish!
    Ratings:
    +319
    Tell me about it:facepalm:, 26E install at a local pub (1.2M):[​IMG]
     
  14. ant_thomas

    ant_thomas Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    I'm glad it's not just me that can't help but look at peoples dish setups when driving or walking around anywhere!

    :blush:
     
  15. logiciel

    logiciel Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    49,971
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,915
    You can do that on almost anything.
     
  16. hugmaks

    hugmaks Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +4
    i will move my dish tomorrow to see if i can pick up 4.8e, if not then i will look for a bigger dish :rolleyes:
     
  17. Ghostleader

    Ghostleader Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,361
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Glasgow'ish!
    Ratings:
    +319
    Its a hobbie in itself mate!:D:smashin:
     
  18. hugmaks

    hugmaks Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +4
    ok guys wasn't able to get 4.8e but i was speaking to a mate of mine an he said it could be because of the monoblock lnb i use, so iv ordered one off eBay for £4.99. hopefully i can get it working and epl in English :D
     
  19. hugmaks

    hugmaks Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +4
    oh well doesn't matter now, i would have to get ad sport if i want to get all epl games as pl has removed all but one game from viasat *** :mad:
     

Share This Page

Loading...