Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

multi lnb

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by hugmaks, Feb 22, 2012.

  1. hugmaks

    hugmaks
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +4
    hi , wandering if anyone could help me. im wanting to get a multi lnb setup so i can get viasat for the epl becuase they still have it in English while still keeping nova jsc. this is the dish i have. i was looking at this multi lnb kit , any one know if that would fit on my dish, if not what would you recommend.
    thanks
    hugmaks
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2012
  2. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,054

    It would do it all ... unless it's Viasat HD on a genuine card paired box - SD Viasat will be OK but I'd aim the whole dish at 4.8e & have 13e in offset ... not in love with that brand of dish btw.. and although the Inverto bullet lnbs look good - they are not a cheap option at that price for just a few sats & you will still suffer either lower signals or require a bigger dish should you try to go to the azimuth spread limits they quote.
     
  3. hugmaks

    hugmaks
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks for the reply Pedro,are there any other lnbs that are similar to the Inverto bullet lnbs that are cheaper?
     
  4. ant_thomas

    ant_thomas
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    Why not buy the bits separately? Do you need 5 LNBs?
     
  5. hugmaks

    hugmaks
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +4
    it works out cheaper if you buy it as as a kit rather than separately.
     
  6. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,916
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,141
    So your gonna be using all 5 and need the slim ones?

    For 4.8 and 13 you'd be fine using normal LNBs at what £10 each if that... then add some universal brackets again just under £10 so say £30 all in?
     
  7. ant_thomas

    ant_thomas
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34

    What kevkbuk sums up what I thought!
     
  8. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,886
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,698
    It looks like being roughly twice as much as it would be as separate components.
     
  9. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,054
    Bullet/ narrow style lnbs do carry a price premium, but as others have said, you don't seem to need them unless you have plans to have a bigger multi lnb setup than 4.8e + 13e .... then they will allow close satellites & in that case you could then add standard lnbs & use the narrow lnbs mostly for the very close sats [<6 degree?] ... say 8 lnbs or more in total but an 80 has it's limits there & will result on low numbers the further out, especially with weak satellites being low or too low.

    A nice project nevertheless if done well.
     
  10. hugmaks

    hugmaks
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +4
    hmm... well i want to keep the channels on 19.2e aswell as hotbird and getting this new one. thanks for all the advice guys.
     
  11. Ghostleader

    Ghostleader
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,686
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Glasgow'ish!
    Ratings:
    +394
    I would have thought that Viasat would be impossible on a 80cm dish mate if your in the North of the country.
     
  12. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,054
    might have helped if one knew it was Aberdeen :D.... but it might go the other way or not actually drop off a cliff on the Nordic beam if you look at the footprint... some other sats might be an issue in offset..

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Ghostleader

    Ghostleader
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,686
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Glasgow'ish!
    Ratings:
    +394
    Tell me about it:facepalm:, 26E install at a local pub (1.2M):[​IMG]
     
  14. ant_thomas

    ant_thomas
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    I'm glad it's not just me that can't help but look at peoples dish setups when driving or walking around anywhere!

    :blush:
     
  15. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,886
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,698
    You can do that on almost anything.
     
  16. hugmaks

    hugmaks
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +4
    i will move my dish tomorrow to see if i can pick up 4.8e, if not then i will look for a bigger dish :rolleyes:
     
  17. Ghostleader

    Ghostleader
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,686
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Glasgow'ish!
    Ratings:
    +394
    Its a hobbie in itself mate!:D:smashin:
     
  18. hugmaks

    hugmaks
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +4
    ok guys wasn't able to get 4.8e but i was speaking to a mate of mine an he said it could be because of the monoblock lnb i use, so iv ordered one off eBay for £4.99. hopefully i can get it working and epl in English :D
     
  19. hugmaks

    hugmaks
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +4
    oh well doesn't matter now, i would have to get ad sport if i want to get all epl games as pl has removed all but one game from viasat *** :mad:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice