1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MS Genie subwoofer - Setup?

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by madunphy, Apr 18, 2005.

1. madunphy

madunphy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

recently purchased the genie speaker system and am eager to get it up and running. Before I start, I'm a total novice so these questions might sound stupid, but I'll ask:

When configuring the Notch-Filter, do the sub's volume & frequency dials have to be at any particular settings before following the six steps (i.e load cd, spl meter etc..)

Also once configured how do I go about correctly setting the sub's volume & frequency dials? The speakers are being connected to an arcam AVR200 receiver.

Thanks for any advice

regards

Mike

2. Ed Selley

Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,331
    Set the sub level up first using the supplied SPL (or a better one if you have it). Then use the CD to run the tones and follow the instructions.

My email is at the bottom of the MS faq page if you have any further questions.

3. JBL 4645

JBL 4645
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    :thumbsup: Madunphy :hiya:

Find the cut/off frequency for the front channels note this on paper, and a CD test disc with some spot frequency sine wave tones, using this will make the task go smoothly as possible, if you don’t have a test disc try the local library and see if they have a test disc.

First set the master fader volume to 75dbc by playing wideband pink noise using a calibration disc once the front speakers have been set to 75dbc each one in turn, to slow weighting. :thumbsup: