1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MS 309 Fuse

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by mikatt, Jul 29, 2004.

  1. mikatt

    mikatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    Help can anyone advise the mains fuse on my 309 has blown it is marked T1.6AL 250V where can these be obtained. I remember some threads earlier about this I have only had it set up a few days. Mr Tons I believe you can advise?

    Mike
     
  2. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,303
    Yes it needs to be changed to a 2.5 amp 240-250v version.
    Ed
     
  3. mikatt

    mikatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    Right so can you help where might I get these
    Mike
     
  4. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,303
    Unless you bought online, I would suggest swapping it at the shop because DIY is technically a warranty infringement. All new 309's have a 2.5 in the first place. If you did buy online (and thus would be looking at a lengthy turnaround) any decent electrical store should carry a fuse of that type.
     
  5. mikatt

    mikatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    Got it from Peter Tyson a few weeks ago and have just set it up, so what do you recomend, the kit was obviously sent out from MS with incorrect fuse fitted.

    Mike
     
  6. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,303
    I'd recommend a swap. If you inform Peter Tyson that the unit has the wrong fuse, they will change it over as they are aware of the issue.
     
  7. spm

    spm
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    this is strange, I bought a MS309 from Peter Tyson about a month ago and it blew a fuse, it was a 1.6 and when I contacted them they said they were aware of the issue and sent me a 2.0v fuse which blew immediately. They said they would need to swap but were out of stock. They got stock in on 16th July and swapped on 19th July. I couldn't help but sneak a look at the fuse in the new sub and it's only 1.6v - this on a sub supposedly received from the manufacturer only 2 weeks ago. I've been meaning to contact Peter tyson again but as it's currently working fine I haven't got round to it yet.

    Very pleased with the sound of the sub by the way, and I ought to say that Peter Tyson were always very helpful
     
  8. rd350ypvs

    rd350ypvs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +3
    is there a specific serial number that can be checked to see if it is the 1.6 or 2.5amp fuse ?




    rd350ypvs
     
  9. mikatt

    mikatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    This may be of interest to other proud owners of the MS309

    I got some quick acting 2.5A fuses from my local Maplin which at the moment are holding up OK

    Mike

    Dear **********

    Ed has passed on your message to me regarding the MS309 subwoofer with blown fuse. Having recently completed repeat electrical safety testing on the 309 amplifier I am happy to confirm that replacing the mains fuse with a 2.5A anti-surge type will offer the same level of electrical safety protection but stop it from blowing when you switch on. This is currently being implemented as a running change to future production items.

    Hope this is of help, but please let me know if you have any further queries.

    Regards,

    Acoustic Engineer
    Mordaunt Short
    Unit 1 Gallery Court
    Pilgrimage Street
    London,
    SE1 4LL, UK
     
  10. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,303
    Mikatt please edit Adam's number and contact out as he isn't the standard contact point for MS or indeed AP.
    Ta.
     
  11. WILD9

    WILD9
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +6
    Im going to be picking up a 309 from RS this week sometime, where is this fuse located so i can check when i buy it?
     
  12. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,303
    On the inside of the amp plate. RS are a bit different (read more of a pain) to Peter Tyson. They order little and often which means that the units they have are generally straight off the boat and will have a 2.5amp fuse in. Peter Tyson actually does what we prefer (large orders every three months) but this does mean there is a chance some of their stock still has a 1.5 in it.
     
  13. spm

    spm
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    wild9, its where you plug in the power cable to the amp, there is a small plastic compartment
     
  14. mikatt

    mikatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    The fuse holder slides out
     
  15. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,303
    Erm yes- quite right.

    I've just been looking at a 909 :suicide: :clown:
     
  16. WILD9

    WILD9
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +6
    hehe ok thanks il make sure i have a look :)
     
  17. WILD9

    WILD9
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +6
    Ok the fuse has gone already after 3 days. does anyone know what sort of fuse it is as theres loads of different types. Would : GJ93B BUY 1: 20mm QB 2.5A 10 PK be suitable (do a search for GJ93B on maplin.co.uk if the link doesnt work)
     
  18. spm

    spm
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Wild9 I don't think it's those, you need the time delay ones. Tons of Fun mentioned it's best to get replacements from the retailer to avoid potential problems with the warranty so I would ring RS get them to send replacements
     
  19. mikatt

    mikatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    Check Radio Spares part No 310-4098

    2.5Amp anti surge fuse

    Mike
     
  20. WILD9

    WILD9
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +6
    mikatt is radio spares a shop? im not familiar with it. how about these their called time delay and its mentioned that their to be used in conjuction with items expecting surge currents, are these any better? I have a maplin about 2 minutes walk from my door so if they do stock what im after itd be easier to get it from there, thx for the help so far :)
     
  21. Beobloke

    Beobloke
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Out in the Sticks!
    Ratings:
    +65
    Hi guys,
    If buying from Maplin you want stock number GL63T - 20mm glass time delay fused, 2.5A, 250V (pack of 10)
    Hope this helps!
     
  22. WILD9

    WILD9
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +6
    Brilliant, thanks alot il pick up a pack tonight
     
  23. WILD9

    WILD9
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +6
    Well maplin didnt have any and basically tried to tell me a 5A fuse would be just as good so now it looks like im going to have to buy them over the net , but im loathed to pay £4 delivery for 50p worth of fuses. RS want the whole thing back to repair which is more hastle than its worth really.
     
  24. mikatt

    mikatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    WILD9

    My Maplin had the quick blow type which I'm using at the moment. Your Maplin branch would probably get you the anti surge type for you to collect when they receive them.

    mike
     
  25. WILD9

    WILD9
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +6
    Unfortunatly my local branch is useless ive tried ordering several things from them before only for them to never recieve them so i just took the plunge and ordered them over the net, they arrived this morning so hopefull yitl be back up and runnign tonight. Thanks for all the help.
     
  26. oliver24

    oliver24
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am also one of those with a dead 309, I only got the sub from Peter Tyson two weeks ago and it's got the 1.6 fuse

    Will see if maplin have the 2.5 in stock near me
     
  27. spm

    spm
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    If you give Peter Tyson a ring they will send you some fuses
     
  28. oliver24

    oliver24
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Spm Thanks for the advice, I got a pack from Maplin today for 1:79
    so I could use it again tonight anyway.
     
  29. WILD9

    WILD9
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +6
    Did you check they were the right ones, maplin sold me a pack of 5amp ones and it was only when i checked i noticed. That was using the correct order code as well.
     
  30. oliver24

    oliver24
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the tip Wild, after checking they are 2.5amp time lag 240v so I think there ok right?

    Amazed Maplin had them in stock, normaly out of anything I go for.
     

Share This Page

Loading...