1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MP-1 Mod anyone had it done?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by fatrich, Jan 24, 2003.

  1. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +29
    Hi
    Im thinking of having my radeon 9500 upgraded with the MP-1 mod and this should complete my home cinema, has anyone in the uk had this done, if so where did you get it modded and how much did it cost.Ive contacted mike parker direct still waiting for a reply.

    cheers

    richard
     
  2. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +29
    wot know one had it done? ,looks like i'll be the first then. regards

    rich
     
  3. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    What happens in six months time when everyone ditches the ATI cards in favour of Geforce FX? ;)
     
  4. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Isnt Jenz planning to do some sort of mods to cards?

    ad
     
  5. Tim Cooper

    Tim Cooper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Laindon Essex
    Ratings:
    +96
    I'll buy Rich's 9500 at a knock down price:D...unless of course Rich's lad doesn't use it as a shovel ;)

    Rich,
    The Mike Parker mod is a 5bnc conversion with a revamped amp daughter board, & the RF filters removed, you can do two of the mod's cheaply RE: the 5bnc & the RF removal.
    There has been a lot of discussion with regards to the RF removal mod, it seems to only have a benefit when you are running insane resolutions anyone running normal modes 720p 960p etc have seen no increase in picture clarity.
    If you are using a good low loss co-ax cable between your graphics card & your PJ, you will not need to amplify your signal to the PJ.
    I'm running my home modified 5bnc modded Radeon 7200 at 720p(72-75 res) with my RF filters intact over 10m on a no name co-ax & get superb pictures with negligible noise,that said, my next uprade to "broadcast quality" co-ax (about 130 quid)
    If you don't want to do RF removal or the 5bnc mod yourself seek out Mark Grant i understand he does them.
    So to re-cap, save your money & invest in the 5bnc mod so you can run some top quality co-ax.
    I would still like though to see a Mike Parker modded card in action.
    Cheers.
    Tim.
     
  6. Mark Grant

    Mark Grant
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    East Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +171
    Hello Richard,

    A home cinema is never complete, it just cannot happen :)


    If you have the spare cash for the MP-1, I would say go for it.

    Use some quality cables for the RGBHV BNC output. (the connectors are more important than the cable in my experience)


    Justify the cost by telling yourself that you will not spend any more cash on your hobby until you have watched a lot of films,
    maybe 10 or even 12 ;)



    Mark.
     
  7. Steve Bate

    Steve Bate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarporley
    Ratings:
    +11
    Richard,

    Have you got your 9500 yet? What's it like?

    Steve
     
  8. Steve Bate

    Steve Bate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarporley
    Ratings:
    +11
    Is ther eany benefit going for the 128Mb Pro rather than the 64Mb Pro?

    Richard, sorry for highjacking the thread!!

    Steve
     
  9. crs

    crs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the 128mb pro will allow more textures, etc to be loaded onto the graphics card at one go. It usually means more speed as the card doest have to keep asking the cpu to send it more data.
     
  10. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +29
    Steve
    the 9500 (i have the 128Mb version) is visually better than the 9000 and it looks better made, i do want the mp-1 but sending my card mean i will have to do without homecinema for 2 to 3 weeks, but everyone i have spoken to says the mod does made a big improvment on sharpness, blacks, detail and very little if no video noise. Mind you if i were spending £350.00 on a mod i dont think i would admit it was crap.

    cheers

    richard
     

Share This Page

Loading...