Question Moving to mini ITX over ambitious for potential temps?

caz2005

Hi there,

I'm wanting to swap some PC bits to fit my PC in a mini itx case (The Dan A4-SFX V3 to be precise) but I wondering if that's a bit ambitious for what I use my PC for, a lot of 3D Max, Unity 3D Substance Designer/Painter, Photoshop and some games.

I'm not a complete noob, I've built 3 PCs but nothing that small, only nice big case that have lots of airflow. I'd be sticking with my i5 6600K (Not overclocked) and potentially going with the Noctua NH-L9X65 (Which PC Part Picker says will fit in that case) or the NH-L9I.

Do you think I'll be ok with these in that tiny case with the tasks I'll be doing or should I stick with Micro ATX?

Thanks for reading :)

Caz

sykotik

Distinguished Member
It's very small case , and does look nice ,
but from what iv seen - the temps are normally quite high , and if your going to be using it for a while and it's going to be under load a lot it could be bad idea.

caz2005

It's very small case , and does look nice ,
but from what iv seen - the temps are normally quite high , and if your going to be using it for a while and it's going to be under load a lot it could be bad idea.

Hi there, thanks for the reply.

Yeah, I've seen a lot of gaming builds with this case but I'm beginning to see how it's maybe not good for being under load long term.

I'm struggling to find a case that ticks all the boxes. Would like something that can sit on the desk and be out of the way. Maybe the phanteks enthoo evolve shift? Says it's designed for aio coolers and it's really thin...

sykotik

Distinguished Member
It's an old case now but the fractal design node 304 is a good case ( stock intake fans are a bit naf -but can changed to some betters like the noctua 92mm - replace the rear too )

it will take a over sized cpu air cooler like the b-quiet's dark rock 3 but you will need some LP ram/s
will also fit a 3 fan GPU like the gigabyte 1070ti /1080/ti ( two slot wide )