Moving Sky+

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by dUnKle, Jan 2, 2005.

  1. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,496
    I want to move my room around, with view of getting my Plasma wall mounted

    However im stuck as the cable(s) from my Sat Dish to the Box are not long enough :( I need about another 10 meters or so

    Is it possible to buy an extension cable rather than replace the existing cables ?
     
  2. jammyb2004

    jammyb2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113
    cut the end off the each feed (leave 3 inches on the end) put male aerial connector on the feed end and a female aerial lead on the other end of the bit u cut off. then go get 20 metres of co-ax cable from maplins, cut in half, put male and female ends on both extension leads, plug male from feed 1 into female of extension 1, then male of extension 1 into female on one of the satellite leads u cut off. repeat for feed 2 and your leads are now 10 metres longer and can plug straight back into back of sky+ in its new place. test signal strengths in the setup menu under services.

    that will work. or if ur under warranty, get an engineer out to do it for ye. and pay a bit extra to have new leads from LNB down wall, through wall and round to new place of choice.

    lastly you can do as i suggested but use sat connectors instead if preferred. pick 'em up when u go to maplins to get your 20 metres of co-ax cable.

    HTH,

    jammy
     
  3. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,496
  4. freeman

    freeman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
  5. benwillcox

    benwillcox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +22
    I don't think that you want to use aerial connectors for the LNB leads. And there's no need to cut anything off the ends. You need a couple of CT100 coax extension cables with F connectors on each end, and 2 F couplers to attach to your existing cables.

    I see as I type this freeman has posted a good link to what is needed!

    Cheers,
    Ben
     
  6. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I agree. I would not use ordinary aerial connectors with satellite cable.
     
  7. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,496

    Thanks all - that looked spot on what I needed but I was not too taken with the ordering systems - great big warnings about MUST be there to sign etc

    Can anyone point me to the exact cable and connectors at Maplins (used them before)

    Thanks
     
  8. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I would advise that you go to Screwfix for the sat cable if you want more than about 20 metres, because they are about 30% cheaper than Maplin, but they only do 100m reels.

    However the Maplin parts are :

    Cable, CT100, black - XS16S - 99p a metre OR
    Cable, CT100 black, 100m reel - PB42V - £39.99
    F plug, screw on - FU04E - 99p each
    F connector, female to female coupler - FE92A - 49p each

    Please check before you order, I accept no responsibility for errors :suicide:
     
  9. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,475
    Argos do a 10m extension for £4.99
     
  10. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,496
  11. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,475
  12. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,475
    i bought one, but not had chance to test yet....
     
  13. jammyb2004

    jammyb2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113

    i did suggest to use satellite connectors further down my thread!

    i just thought it would be cheaper to buy all the bits separately than to buy ready made extension cables.

    tis all,

    jammy
     

Share This Page

Loading...