Moving from CRT! Which TV is recommended?

Discussion in 'What Is The Best TV For You?' started by OutOftheLoop, Dec 13, 2017.

1. OutOftheLoop

OutOftheLoop
      Novice Member

Products Owned:
      Products Wanted:
      Ratings:
      +2
      Hi everyone,
      I am a complete newbie to the world of modern TVs but have been reading these forums alot. I currently have a 32inch massive CRT (if anyone still remembers what that is) and it's probably time for an upgrade. Looking for a 50-55inch, up to £800 (willing to wait until spring 2018). that will last me another 10-15 years or so before considering an upgrade. From what I gather from these forums - the main recommended one is the SonyXE90 if the price comes down in Spring. Are there anymore I should be keeping an eye out for?

Question/answers below:

1. What are your sources going to be? Freeview SD and HD channels, Amazon, BT Sports, online HD Streams. (have 76mbps internet)
      2. SD vs HD vs UHD use percentage? (currently all SD) expecting 30%, 60%, 10%
      3. Movies, sport, console games, PC use (in percentage)? Movies and sports mostly (50 50)
      4. How close can you view the TV? about 3 meters (10 feet)
      5. Do you need to view the TV from the side or only straight on? need wide viewing
      6. What conditions do you like to view in? Quite bright during day time viewing, usually have some form of light in the background during night time viewing.
      7. What are you currently using and what do you expect by upgrading to a new TV? Currently have 32inch CRT, expecting to join the 21st century! Hoping for better picture quality, bigger screen and viewing experience.