Moving a BT Master Socket

hotbaws11

Novice Member
Hi,

My uncle (electrician by trade) tried to move a BT Master Socket so that his old static caravan could be replaced with a new one but now there is no dial tone or BB and I thought I'd ask on the internet of what people think could have gone wrong.

I've read a few different websites which say although your not legally allowed to move a BT Master Socket (e.g. BT engineer needs to do this), it sounded pretty straightforward to disconnect the 2 wires from A & B (NTE5 socket) and then reconnect elsewhere.

My uncle got BT Infinity installed as a new line into the old static caravan around 6 months ago and recently decided to upgrade his static caravan. He disconnected the blue and white cable from the NTE5 box (blue was A, white was B) and insulated them in a safe location so that the old caravan could be moved out and the new one moved in. After about 3 or 4 days, he then reconnected the blue and white cable to the same NTE5 box to look exactly like before (blue to A, white to B), however there is no dial tone from the master socket now and BB obviously doesn't connect either.

He checked the junction box outside the caravan and the blue and white cables look exactly the same (e.g. no damage from changing caravans). I'm guessing something has triggered back at the exchange which needs to be reset by an engineer but this is certainly outside my knowledge area.

Thanks.

Update: I've posted this query on here as I found an old thread where it sounds like various people have moved a BT Master Socket in the past... Moving a BT master socket and other phone wiring questions

Last edited:

hornydragon

You say he is a spark by trade? It's 2 wires................. just join through at old location to resited master socket location at new location using either gel crimps or IDC connectors.