1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Movie Maker 2 aand VCD

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by NormanB, Oct 19, 2003.

1. NormanB

NormanB
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

I am having major problems with Windows MovieMaker 2.0 and specifically burning output to CDR. I am a newbie to video editing and matters digital, so it is entirely possible I am fouling things up and asking the software to do things that were not intended. My aim is to produce a vcd home movie that can be viewed on a standalone DVD player.

The CD Drive is a Liteon 52246S and I have upgraded it to the latest firmware. Device Manager reports it as functioning correctly and it uses a generic windows driver. I have checked the Liteon site there are no driver updates available. I have uninstalled/reinstalled to eliminate driver corruption. The CDROM will successfully copy music CDs. I use quality (TDK) media and have set the max write speed to X16 to match the media in use.

In WMM I can transfer digital video from my Sony PC100E via firewire without problem and indeed can send it back to a fresh tape. However on each occassion of attempting to 'burn' to CDR (using the 'send to CD function in WMM), I end up producing a coaster. This will occur on all file sizes as I have experimented with a one minute clip. I do not get any error messages at all and initially all looks well and things progress until it reaches 58% (and I thought the meaning of the universes was 42!!) and then it just sits there and does b***** all and will sit there for hours.

The PC is a P4/2.6, 512MB RAM, 80GB HDD using the XP Pro OS.

Grateful for any help or advice.

NormanB

2. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,380