Mounting on dry-lined walls

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by thedoc, Nov 1, 2005.

1. thedoc

thedoc
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe a stupid question, but I'm sure you installers will have a clear answer!

I'm going to mount a 32" 18Kg LCD unit to a wall. The wall is basically breeze (not thermalite!) block with dob&dab plasterboarded (aka Dry lined)

I'm going to use 10mm diam window fixings with those huge raw plugs, I think they're 150mm long IIRC.

Question:

I drill the holes then, for the best fixing, should I knock the raw plugs all the way in to the breeze (i.e past the plasterboard surface) or should I knock them flush with the plasterboard surface to match the screw length?

I'm not a newbie on DIY but this has always confused me. I'm pretty new to dry-lined walls since a house move, and I've hung curtains, built and attached a bar, shelves etc. and never been sure quite how to achieve the best fixing into breeze, dry-lined walls.

Can anyone finally set my mind at rest and answer this silly question!?

(P.S Also, can one do the same with thermalite dry-lined walls - or would the block give way when the screw compresses the raw plug??)

Ian

2. .borg

.borg
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ideally you should drill through the dabs. This gives the strongest fixings. If you have drilled through the pboard and there is no glue (dab) under the hole, you should fill the gap between the wall and pboard with some gripfill (the really sticky stuff the trade use -avaialbe from travis perkins and now B&Q I think?) and let this set firmly, approx 24 hours.

You can then proceed to plug and screw in the normal fashion i.e knock the plug into the wall to just below the surface of the wall finish.

Hope this helps.

Regards

Michael