1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mountain Lion breaks QNAP TimeMachine support

Discussion in 'Apple Forum' started by dante01, Jul 29, 2012.

  1. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    42,749
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +9,677
    Since updating to Mountain Lion I've been unable to use my TimeMachine volume on my QNAP TS412 NAS (firmware 3.7.1 Build 2012615). I just get the following while attempting to connect to the TM volume:

    [​IMG]

    Console give the following error:
    Code:
    com.apple.backupd[236]: Backup failed with error: 19
    I've so far tried renaming my Mac as well as starting afresh with the TimeMachine configuration on the NAS itself, but still get the same error. TM sees the volume (sparse bundle) on the NAS and I can select it as the desired backup volume, but TM simply cannot proceed with the backup.

    Anyone know how to fix this?



    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2012
  2. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    42,749
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +9,677
    Has anyone had a similar issue with their QNAP TS-1079Pro TurboNAS, TS-659Pro/659Pro+/659Pro II TurboNAS, TS-639Pro TurboNAS or TS-509ProTurboNAS?

    Has the recent firmware update rectified any Time Machine issues with those NAS boxes?

    QNAP Systems, Inc. - Network Attached Storage (NAS) - Support - Download

    There's no mention of Time Machine or Mountain Lion within the release notes???
     
  3. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    42,749
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +9,677
    I think I may have found a solution?

    If you right click on the picture of the TM disc image on the TM pref panel then you get two options. Choose the "Remove Backup Disc" option and comfirm this when prompted.

    Now go onto the NAS and reconfigure (disable and then renable) the Time Machine setup.

    Now go back to the TM preferences and select the new TimeMachine volume from the drop down.

    Turn Time Machine on, but rather than wait for it to start to backup or start it via the finder menu bar, once again right click on the picture of the disc image and select the "Backup Now" option.

    [​IMG]

    For some unknown reason this works????


    Thanks to PharCyder on the QNAP users forum:
    QNAP NAS Community Forum • View topic - The Mountain Lion thread


    I hope this helps anyone else having similar issues.
     
  4. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    42,749
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +9,677
    THe situation is unfortunately not fully resolved. While I can invoke the TM backup via the right click and "Backup Now" method, scheduled backups are still delayed and do not execute. I can use TM, but I'm limited to manually starting backups via the right click method.

    :(
     
  5. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    42,749
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +9,677
  6. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    42,749
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +9,677
    QNAP have now acknowledged the issue and state that they are working on a fix. The fix will in all probability be deployed via a firmware update and this is estimated as being version 3.7.3.
     
  7. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    42,749
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +9,677
    QNAP have now released the aforementioned firmware revision. The version for my TS-412 NAS is 3.7.3 Build 0801T.

    [What's New]
    - None
    [Enhancements]
    - [ARM] Upgrades to PHP 5.3.14
    - [ARM] Improves NTFS external drive compatibility
    [Major Bug Fixes]
    - Fixed OS X Mountain Lion Time Machine backup compatibility issue
    - NAS may not be able to recognize some HFS+ external drives formatted by Mac OS X
    - Change Date/Time format to DD-MM-YYYY could cause LDAP Server user creation to fail
    - Cancel the operation during file extraction in Web File Manager would cause unresponsive UI
    - [ARM] User Home Folders may not work properly in some conditions
    - [ARM] Improved the security for web administration login session (cross-site scripting vulnerability)
    - [ARM] Invisible “Manage Album” button for administrators (only the “admin” user could see it)


    http://www.qnap.com/en/index.php?lang=en&sn=848&n=13382&d=1
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2012
  8. Monopot

    Monopot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    2,515
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +190
    Glad to see its fixed. I had to stop using my QNAP for TM backups a while ago as they were constantly getting corrupted. Had used a Time Capsule over wifi for nearly 3years without any issues before it died. I then tried using my QNAP and my TM backup would never go more than 3 weeks without getting corrupted. Have since moved to USB drive I keep at work :(
     
  9. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    42,749
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +9,677
    I can't say I'd any issues with using the QNAP NAS for TM backups prior to the Mountain Lion upgrade.
     
  10. Monopot

    Monopot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    2,515
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +190
    If I went via ethernet it was fine, it was only with Wifi, but it seems that it was a more generic TM issue with Wifi backups on NAS that was the culprit rather than a QNAP issue. Found quite a few large threads on apple support and other forums for it,and the only fix was delete the tm spare bundle and start again.
     
  11. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    42,749
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +9,677
    That may be the reason why then. I only use the NAS in conjunction with an ethernet LAN. Even so, wouldn't it be more logical to assume that your wireless router was to blame rather than the hardware using it?
     

Share This Page

Loading...