1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motorola RAZR V3 - SMS DELIVERY REPORT

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by musclehedz, Dec 28, 2004.

Tags:
  1. musclehedz

    musclehedz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi guys/gals,

    i've browsed thru this forum and noticed a lot of ppl have asked about the SMS delivery report settings...and some answered its an option..its not an option...i believe the DELIVERY REPORTS is only available on the MMS, NOT THE SMS.

    and the TICK that applies on the OUTBOX only indicates that it HAS BEEN SENT, not to indicate DELIVERED.

    I was also trying to look for this function when i got the phone, i looked high and low for it but couldn't find it.

    if any of you fellas so happen to be able to find this option, where is it??? :confused: or maybe motorola has a newer version of the firmware that needs to be installed that has this option?
     
  2. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    When you send the text - it gives you 4 "options" before you hit send - 2 are to change the message and sender, one is to add a subject and the last is to ask for a receipt (which is notification of delivery).

    Hope this helps
     
  3. 5tAr

    5tAr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have a v3 and i always tick yes to a reciept but never get 1 anyone know why?
     
  4. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    What's more spooky is I've gotten them when I've not asked for one!! No clues as to why (but if it's on Vodafone, nothing would surprise me)
     
  5. musclehedz

    musclehedz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    damn! i think its the firmware version in the phone...i SERIOUSLY do not have that option! i only got 2 options..i only have the option to change the message and sender!

    Wats the firmware version on all your phones? mine is:

    Flex Version : GSMV3xxT672UZ041
    Software Version : R374_G_OE.40.3DR
    DSP Version : 62202000
    Language List : 0024
     
  6. the_sanguine

    the_sanguine
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi Guys.

    It's network dependant. If you set "request delivery receipt" (the actual text is handset dependant), the phone sets a flag in the message submission. The network (assuming it supports the relevant level of signalling and network functionality) must then decide whether to return receips or not. If they do, then it doubles the amount of capacity required and they therefore may charge for receipt as it is treated by the network as another message.

    I hope that clears it up....
     
  7. EnigmaCode

    EnigmaCode
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    thats mostly true. it depends on the flex(thats the part of the software that holds the settings and the GUI) in the phone. to enable them, have a read of this
     
  8. 5tAr

    5tAr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have just tried to download the p2kman from the 'a guide to hex editing' and just got an error message saying windows cannot find the file and to check if the name has been typed correctly. help plz
    thanks
     
  9. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    I got mine on day of release and it's sim free so can't comment on anything network related.

    Software Version : R374_G_OE.40.3CR

    My flex version looks NOTHING like yours ;)

    Maybe time (for me anyway) if there's any firmware update :)
     
  10. the_sanguine

    the_sanguine
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +7
    My point is that even if you manage to get the phone to request it (which should be straight forward), the network may just ignore the request or may charge you for the delivery receipt.
     
  11. EnigmaCode

    EnigmaCode
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    try here and here (the driver for it)





    sim-free phones do NOT all have the same flex - they can vary. many networks put their OWN flex on - so thats why it can be mostly dependent upon the network.
     
  12. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    Hence my not commenting :thumbsup:
     
  13. musclehedz

    musclehedz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    my network has this feature turned on. all this while i do have SMS Delivery Reports, it only doesnt work on my V3. so that is why i was asking if any of you guy's handset has the OPTION somewhere in your phones?(NOTE:i don't mean the MMS Delivery Reports, i mean the SMS ones).
     
  14. EnigmaCode

    EnigmaCode
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    i know exactly what you mean. looks like we have to start again, eh, because it seems like i'm not being understood.
    ok, when you are just about to send a text, it'll have the the first line of text of the sms, the persons name whom you are sending to, then an option for delievery reports (by default should be set to "no"). just because your net work has them, it doesn't mean that it will be enabled on your v3. the v3 already has a similar sort of 'delivery report', so your network won't bother putting nokia style delivery reports on.

    so to enable nokia style delivery reports, read that link that i gave above!
     
  15. musclehedz

    musclehedz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry man, i missed out that link...OK THANK YOU VERY MUCH BUDDY!!! I've edited my phone and now i'm a very happy man with a very happy V3
    :thumbsup: i've now got the option for SMS Delivery Reports :clap:
     
  16. EnigmaCode

    EnigmaCode
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    glad to have helped :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...