1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motorola Razr Audio Dropoff

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by Mookie, Nov 26, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Mookie

Mookie
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all,
    First,I am a newbie from the colonies (US) so forgive me if this should be posted elsewhere. I recently moved from our less than wonderful CDMA network here in the States to a GSM Motorola V3.
    The aesthetics of the phone are extremely appealing (a lot like Apple designs) and I generally like Motorola hardware. But I have been experiencing a problem that is either specific to my handset or generally to the digital network.
    With my old CDMA digital/analog service when the phone dropped out of digital, analog would pick up and the call continued. When in analog there would occassionaly be a fading of the signal and a dropoff in volume.
    I thought a digital (GSM) conection was all or nothing. You either had a connection or not, but the voice quality would not differ based on signal strength and therefor the volume would not change.
    Every now and then while in a phone conversation on the V3 the volume will drop so low I canbarely hear, and then it comes back normally.
    Has anyone else experienced this? Is it maybe my cell? Or is this possible in the digital network?
    Many thanks in advance.

2. Mr.The.Spoon

Mr.The.Spoon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    Can't say I've had that problem over here in the UK. I've got the same phone. Then again, in London there's a signal pretty much everywhere I go (and I haven't been trying to talk on the phone while heading to the Underground).

I know a few years ago, when signals were weaker and not frying our brains, when the digital signal dropped out, it could get a bit crackly before cutting out.