Motion artifact or defective LCD in projector ?

zook09

Novice Member
Hi,
I am new to projectors.
I had been using Samsung SP-H03 pico projector for watching movies and such until recently, since it started to show stars on the projected screen - stuck micromirrors on the DLP.
I might be moving to a house where I intend to buy a TV or a decent projector, so for the time being I went ahead and got one of those cheap eBay projector as a temporary measure.
The colors are not as saturated and the projection has quite visible screen door effect. I hope I will be able to bear this for the next few months, till I move.
But one artifact I observed when there is some relatively fast motion on the screen. There is a slanted cut line visible from top center to lower left corner. Always at the same place. During slow movements in videos, it doesnt occur. Attaching a screenshot from the video I took.
if someone can take a look and advise whether the LCD is going to die soon or is defective, or is it some motion artifact.
Its the generic RD-805 model, btw.

A video showing the slanted line during a movie with fast movement.
slanted line.mp4 (10.54MB) - SendSpace.com

A video showing the wavy moving interference like noise, clearly visible on a gray background.
wavy lines-1.mp4 (4.73MB) - SendSpace.com

Thanks

Attachments

• slanted line movie.png
    slanted line movie.png
    304.7 KB · Views: 94

stevelup

Distinguished Member
That's as good as those projectors get I'm afraid. The reason for your second issue is that they convert everything to composite internally.

The first one is certainly weird though!

You'd be far better off picking up a cheap second hand 'proper' projector.

cypher007

according to a comment on trusted reviews: