1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motherboards with DTS output

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by sapper, Apr 22, 2004.

  1. sapper

    sapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southgate, North London
    Ratings:
    +141
    Are there any mother boards which output DTS in the sPDIF Digital output?


    If so, are they any good?

    Just curious!
     
  2. Comer

    Comer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,371
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +83
    I thought that any mainboard/soundcard that passes Dolby Digital through spdif will also pass DTS???
     
  3. <<ERROR>>

    <<ERROR>>
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am pretty sure that the nForce motherboards for Athlon XP processors will encode and output Dolby Digital, on the optical port, from any audio source you use, even (especially) games. I believe that they are the only audio chip that is capable of doing this, so you can hook up your PC to an existing audio receiver and use it for digital surround sound on both games and film.

    Also, as Comer said, any sound device with an optical output can pass through S/PDIF audio on an optical port (regardless of what type it is - Dolby, Dolby EX, DTS, DTS ES, etc.)
     
  4. MikeTV

    MikeTV
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ealing, London
    Ratings:
    +844
    or a coax output...

    :)
     
  5. <<ERROR>>

    <<ERROR>>
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. fufna

    fufna
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, I run a Winfast Nforce motherboard and this decodes raw data straight from the disc and spits it out of the coax perfectly
     

Share This Page

Loading...