1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motherboard Recommendations. Help please.

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Messiah, Mar 1, 2003.

  1. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Hi all

    My new HTPC case truned up today but turns out my existing motherboard (only bought in the New Year :mad: ) is not suitable (needs mATX). So, to prevent me buying the wrong one can anyone recommend a good m/b with the following spec

    mATX format
    Suitable for Athlon 2k Processor
    On board USB
    On board Firewire
    On board LAN
    On board sound (digital optical out)

    and that's about it. Which should I buy.

    Thanks for your help and time :D

    Neil
     
  2. Sgt.Colon

    Sgt.Colon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Thanks Sgt Colon.

    I'm now not sure I've got the mATX bit right. I have the new CoolerMaster ATC610 case which only has 4 card slots. Should I be looking for mATX or uATX or are they the same.

    I can give dimensions if that helps but they don'r show any sizes on the scan site so I am going off the number of PCI slots available in the back cut outs.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.
     
  4. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Hmmm. Just looked at the CM site here which says it is Micro-ATX. I'm still confused though that the case only has 4 x cutouts for PCI cards but that board onthe scan site has 5 slots.

    I'm getting :confused:
     
  5. Sgt.Colon

    Sgt.Colon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Messiah.

    mATX does have fewer PCI slots but don't got off Scans pictures cos they are not always correct. If you are going to buy from Scan just give them a call to double check on the mobo size/slots :)

    Hope this helps? :)

    mATX = Micro uATX = Ultra. As far as I am aware. People correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  6. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Bummer. Just checked the ABit site and that board is ATX form factor not mATX.

    Any other ideas? Anyone?
     
  7. Sgt.Colon

    Sgt.Colon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. ghoti

    ghoti
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The board on the Scan site is a full sized ATX. It has 5 PCI slots, 1 AGP slot, and the distance between the AGP and the 5th PCI is equivelant to a slot. Thus a total of 7 slots = a full ATX.

    Just my $.02.

    ghoti
     
  9. ghoti

    ghoti
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oops, a little late....
     
  10. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Ooohhh!!! Loads of mATX boards here. Looks like an Aladdin's cave :D

    Thanks Sgt Colon. Looks like it may be a Gigabyte board.

    Cheers
     
  11. Sgt.Colon

    Sgt.Colon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :clap: Happy shopping Messiah :)
     
  12. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Another dead end. They're all for P4 processors. :mad: My quest continues.
     
  13. Sgt.Colon

    Sgt.Colon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  14. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Great find :smashin: but no firewire :thumbsdow Aaarrggghhhh!!!!

    And any idea why only 3 a slots. Are they likely to line up with 3 out of the 4 in the case or will they be out of alignment.

    Geez, this is hard work...
     
  15. Sgt.Colon

    Sgt.Colon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the forth slot on your case not for the AGP? and for Firewire, could you not just buy a Firewire card? :)
     
  16. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Yeah, of course it is. Silly me. I said I was getting confused :rolleyes: . As to the firewire, even though I already have a firewire card I'd rather not use up a precious slot (when I've only got 3) so would rather find it on board if possible.
     
  17. Sgt.Colon

    Sgt.Colon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    But if you can find a Mobo with onbaord Firewire. Is there a cut out on your case for this?
     
  18. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Yeah, the 610 case has a front mounted IEEE1394 socket so only need an onboard connector. Not worried about a back facing socket.
     
  19. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
  20. Sgt.Colon

    Sgt.Colon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I might have this wrong but I think with connectors like that you usually run a cable from your card to the front but like I say I could be wrong. On that point I will have to leave you there for your hunt for a Mobo with onboard Firewire but I think you'll be hard pushed for that at the moment. :)

    Good look Messiah :smashin:
     
  21. Sgt.Colon

    Sgt.Colon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aopen are good. They do a great DVD-RW :smashin:

    try www.dabs.com

    they might have them :smashin:
     
  22. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    That one doesn't have sound anyway so probaby better and easier to go for your first recomendation of the Gigabyte board.

    Thanks for your help :smashin: I'm looking for a new DVD burner as well so will look at the AOpen one. 4x by any chance?
     
  23. Sgt.Colon

    Sgt.Colon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure on that Messiah as it's down at our other branch. Will check and post here on Monday for ya. :smashin: Also look at Sony's new DVD-RW that also covers all the formats and it's cheaper (I think)

    Let me know how you get on with your new HTPC as I'm now very interested. :)
     
  24. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    I've had an order in with Dabs for the Sony since before Xmas. Still no stock and still waiting. They seem to be like rocking horse doo doo.

    Soon as I get the mobo my HTPC will be complete within an hour. All the drives are in and all the software (dscaler, pwerstrip, PowerDVD etc) is already loaded and setup. Hope I may be able to find a board in Cardiff area tomorrow if not I'll have to wait till next week :mad:

    Thanks again for your help.
     
  25. Sgt.Colon

    Sgt.Colon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahhh Messiah. Isn't it a pain waiting? The AOpen drive, we had to wait a lifetime for it from Dabs due to no stock. I got a monitor from them a couple of weeks ago and I was playing merry hell cost it took about 2 weeks to come through. :eek: I hate waiting. Good luck on getting it up and running quickly.

    Anytime I can help just give me a shout. :smashin:
     
  26. SeaneyC

    SeaneyC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +54
    A quick note for anyone checking this out now is that uATX is not a standard, but i've seen a lot of places use this to mean microATX or mATX for short. I think they mean to use the greek letter mew, which looks like a u but with a hanging bit on the left hand side of the letter (eg p) Its used in science a lot to mean Micro!
     
  27. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Still not found one. The one I want is the AOpen MK79G-1394 but only Dabs show them on their portfolio but none in stock and long wait expected. What I need is

    mATX Socket A mobo
    x8 AGP
    3 x PCI slots
    on board LAN
    on board USB support
    on Board dd 5.1/6.1 out


    Anyone know of another or where the above AOpen board can be found?

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...