Motherboard, Processor and memory.

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Rad, May 27, 2004.

  1. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hello,

    Does anyone know where I can source a cheap bundle of the above.
    My mates wanting to upgrade his PC and I don't have much idea about costs etc.

    A P4 with 1Gb of memory would be what he's looking for, probably onboard graphics and sound as well.

    Cheers,
    Rich
     
  2. peterc

    peterc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    novatech.co.uk some times do good bundles
     
  3. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cheers,

    That's where I'd looking.
    Any other places with other deals that I can compare them too.

    Cheers,
    Rich
     
  4. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
  5. peterc

    peterc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    most other places don;t do bundles, i just got the cpu mem and mother board seperately from nova and dabs, came out cheaper than a nova bundle too, payed 120 for a 2700 amd mobo and 512 of 3200 ddr, then got a radeon 9800pro for 130, couldn't help it..
     
  6. sleepyone

    sleepyone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +17
    i'll second novatech, got a amd bundle from them for my pals PC, worked a treat. Absolute :censored: if you need to return anything though.

    Where'abouts in Scotland are you Rad, in Glasgow there is a good shop called Tait Components Website Here Havn't looked at the prices for a while so don't know how they compare against current, but may be worth a look.
     
  7. runningback

    runningback
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
  8. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Yep I go with Komplett. Just got a athlon 3000 + decent Asus motherboard + 1 gig of fast DDR + decebnt fan for £250. Probably not the cheapest but they have taken the effort to put some decent kit that works well together and provides good performance at a reasonablke price.
     
  9. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Do you have a link to that deal for £250.

    Wouldn't mind a look at that.

    Is that slower than a Pentium 4 @ 3Ghz ??

    Cheers,
    Rich
     
  10. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    AMD XP3000+2.167Ghz Barton Asus A7V8X-X, PC3200 DDR 512MB, Fan


    http://www.komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?sku=118126&cks=PRL


    extra 512meg

    http://www.komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?sku=113518&cks=SER

    Total £256.29

    Apparently not with the Barton Core but im no expert with Processors Sure some one will be along to put me right. Rest assured its fast enough for the time being for the money ! I have got this with a 9800 pro aI got from them for £140 and a really nice raidmax case from Microdirect (Neon 4 fans etc) Fast Fast Fast...................
     
  11. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    35,343
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +8,370
    The Athlon XP 3000+ is the rough equivalent of a P4 3Ghz in terms of performance. The core speed of the Athlon is slower but the architecture of the chip is such that it performs to a similar level of a P4 running at a higher clock speed.
     
  12. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Great ! Its cheap too !
     
  13. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,959
    Forget the P4 chaps.. much too expensive..


    Go for Athlon XP2800 Barton ( or better if you have £'s )
    Crucial Technology PC 2700/3200 RAM
    Asus / Abit nForce2 motherboard

    This spec will out-perform a P4 3Ghz system in real world terms..

    The barton Athlon has more on-die cache than the thoroughbred, which makes it a perfect match for the P4 at < half the price...

    You should get all this for under £250, I'd start with dabs.com and Overclockers.co.uk for prices, both are cheap and very very reliable.

    I've used both for years and haven't had a problem with a single order so far..

    If you want a good, cheap GFX card, the 3DConnect radeon 9600 pro goes for £75 these days... ( paid £125 for mine :rolleyes: )
     
  14. james.miller

    james.miller
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    athlons and bartons do NOT perform as well as their pf4 counter parts. You can thank AMDs over-zealous numbering scheme for that one. They are neck and neck up to around the xp2800+ mark, but the p4's just overtake and leave them further up the scale.

    If you want a 3200+ that can actually stand up to a 3.2ghz p4, then you should be looking at the 3200+ A64's, and as you'll find out they are nowhere near as cheap as the AXP's;)
     
  15. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,959
    fair doo's mate..

    but...how many people do you know who can

    a) actually tell the difference between a P4 3Gig and an XP 2800
    b) justify spending more than twice the money on the basis of a)

    PC benchmarks mean nothing in the real world, whereas money does.

    If you were upgrading your mates PC would you really waste his cash on a P4 ?
     
  16. james.miller

    james.miller
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    oh none, but thats besides the point. I was clearing up a common misconception there. Personally i wouldn't recommend the p4's to anybody. Every pc ive built, wether it be mine or for somebody, have all been amd-based. Bang for buck they are just the better alternative in this price range:)
     
  17. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,959
    we're thinking along the same lines then.. maybe my terminology is a bit misleading...

    My 'outperform' statement was weighted on the basis he'd be saving a wedge of cash and getting something just as good...

    AMD are the only good thing to hit the PC market in years, just hope MS get their ()() in gear with a proper 64bit OS before i have to start learning Linux...

    ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice