1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

More Much Appreciated Help

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by jediwenger, Jan 9, 2004.

1. jediwenger

jediwenger

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right as I have mentioned before I am new to this Home Cinema thing and itching to get started. The thing is, as most people here know it can be quite expensive buying every thing in one go therefore I wish to do things in stages. I currently own a Sony 700v that has its own 5.1 channel output that I understand can be connected direct to some speaker packages. In the not to distant future I aim to get a Denon AVR2803 or similar AV Receiver and a decent speaker package, but have to get the car serviced, and numerous other commitments prior to the big day. Anyway I was wondering if anybody knew of a cheap speaker package that I could plug direct into the DVD player now, then use with the receiver until I get the decent speakers. These can then go with the DVD player when that gets upgraded.
    Thanks in advance.

2. Andywilliams

Andywilliams

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +63
    Hi Jed
    The 5.1 outputs are for the dvd players on board decoders they are not speaker terminals.What you could do is buy a receiver speaker package like the yamaha AV25 pack for 265 quid(EMPIRE DIRECT)which will sound great and is fully upgradable.
    Cheers Gonzo.

3. jediwenger

jediwenger

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers gonzo

I was under the impression that the DVD could be plugged directly into some speaker packages, for example Acoustic Solutions DS222 sold at argos for approx £55, not that I was going to get this particular system.
    This would allow me to have some form of surround sound some time over the weekend and then get the receiver in a couple of months time.