Question Monitor with standard Sky HD box

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by yugobob, Nov 2, 2017.

  1. yugobob

    yugobob
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi.

    Just wondering if a monitor like this would work plug and play (via HDMI cable) with a sky HD box.

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Dell-28-in...846031,p_n_feature_ten_browse-bin:12855887031

    If so how would a standard HD picture look on it scaled to 4k res. I know some old SD programs look terrible on a HD screen, would this have the same problem.

    Also assuming it would work fine with a game console such as ps4 or xbox (or the pro or x)

    Thanks
     
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,570
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,192
    The monitor has a HD resolution (Not 4K). It will handle 2160P but downscale to 1080p.

    Screen Resolution 1925 x 1080 pixels
    Maximum Display Resolution 3840x2160

    You need to check it will sync at 50Hz (PC's use 60Hz or higher).
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2017
  3. mccg

    mccg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    As Graham says - you need to check if it supports 50fps.
    I have 2 older Dell monitors - neither will work at 50fps - only "US" rates (23/24/30/59/60 fps).
     

Share This Page

Loading...