• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Monitor output switching on Denon AVR x6500h

Digriz

Standard Member
Ok folks. I'm a newbie on here though I have been using surround amps since the old Pro-logic days so be gentle with me.
Just upgraded from an 8 year old Onkyo to the Denon, mainly for Atmos and because the price plummeted with the advent of the 8k range (got four kef q50a speakers at a good price as part of the deal) and I have a new Epson 9400 4k projector so the 4k switching is useful.

I still have an old LG HD TV ( I have limited space and so at 49 inches dont see the need for 4k - different story with the pj ).

So I need to switch between monitor 1 (projector) and monitor 2 (tv). I can do it by negotiating the menus in the control app but thats a pain, especially for family members. I can't for the life of me see a button on the Denon remote which allows it. The solution would be to enable auto which outputs to both but if I then switch off whichever display I am not using, it switches off both thus rendering auto useless for me. I wonder if this might have something to do with outputting to a 4k enabldd projector and HD only TV but am not sure. I switched ARC off but this did not help ?.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Jim

Jamie

Distinguished Member
I presume the 6500 has the quick select functions where you can memorise all the settings and save it to a slot? It also stores source, sound settings and a load of other things including the HDMI output settings.

Edit to add I found a picture of the 6500 remote and it does have the quick select buttons in a row just above the volume and menu controls.

gibbsy