Monitor Audio Silver package demo - advice needed!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by SI1977, May 6, 2007.

1. SI1977

SI1977
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone,

I Went to Seveoaks Hifi to demo the following package for my cinema room.

2 x RS6 fronts
    RS-LCR Centre
    2 x RS-FX Rears
    RSW-12 Sub
    Yamaha RX-V1700 Amp

To be honest I am not that experienced with home cinema, this is my first dedicated room I am buying for but I was blown away by what I heard. I realy want to achieve a room shaking home cinema feel to compliment my projector setup and I just couldn't believe how good this system sounded the bass was incredible.

My problem is that I ideally only wanted spend £1200 including amp and speakers, obviously this package is more towards £2200.

My room size is 16ft by 9ft, do I need to spend this much? I heard these powerful speakers can suffer if used in a small room.

I thought maybe the Bronze package and the Sony 1200 amp would suffice for my room size but I don't want to compromise on the room shaking abilities I heard with the silvers.

Any advice appreciated!

Cheers, Si.

2. Arcam_boy

Arcam_boy
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,372
    you'll have to pay for quality mate. you could go for the bronze series but you'll always wish you'd got the siler series!

3. phillfyspoon

phillfyspoon
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +76
    Maybe knock off the RS6 and get the RS1, for home cinema u can crossover the fronts bass to the sub, which is preferred anyway. Then get bronze rears instead of silver rears, the rears are only ambient sounds anyway so I doubt you would even notice that change.

4. NI-AVGUY

NI-AVGUY

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4