Monitor Audio RS W12

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by blind guardian, Jun 17, 2009.

  1. blind guardian

    blind guardian
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Piraeus - Greece
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hello there,
    my name is cris and i am a new member from Greece!
    I Just bought the Monitor Audio RS W12 Subwoofer which replaced my Yamaha YST SW 320!
    I am quite satisfied and i think it's a great sub!
    I was between the following Subs:
    1.Velodyne CH 12R
    2.B&W 610
    and the Monitor Audio that i prefered!
    Does anyone have it?
    What's his impressions?
    My rest of the speakers are the following:
    Front:Roister Silk 100 (which i will replace them with the B&W 603 S3 that my father has)
    Surround:Roister Status
    Center: Kef Model 100
    My AV Amplifier is an old Sony (Str DB 840 QS) that still satisfies me!
    I am mostly watching Films (80%) and Music (20%)
    After having it about 15 days now and working on low levels because it is still new , from yesterday i started giving it more power!
    It Really Kicks!!!
    I have connected it with a double rca cable (left,right) because my Amplifier has double Lfe OutPut!
    Am i Right?
    Also I keep the volume a bit less than the middle!
    Like 10 o'clock (about 40%)
    Thanks!:hiya:
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2009
  2. dts_boy

    dts_boy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester suburbs...
    Ratings:
    +216
    if you have 2 lfe outputs and only one sub you would only need to connect one output from amp. the sub manual usually tells you which (left/right) input to use.

    Good to see/hear your enjoying the sub!!!
     
  3. blind guardian

    blind guardian
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Piraeus - Greece
    Ratings:
    +2
    Will i be having any problems if continue having both cables on?
    I think it gives some dbs signal extra!
     
  4. danmc_82

    danmc_82
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,619
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Skynet Border
    Ratings:
    +1,201
    Having both LFE outputs connected to your sub increases the gain on the sub. Ive never heard it that way round before (usually one output to two inputs) but it should be fine.
     
  5. blind guardian

    blind guardian
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Piraeus - Greece
    Ratings:
    +2
    Does anyone have it?
    In which volume usually has adjusted it?
    I keep mine about 40% (like 10 o'clock)!
     
  6. blind guardian

    blind guardian
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Piraeus - Greece
    Ratings:
    +2

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice