Quantcast

Monitor Audio Gold 100 Standmount Speaker Review & Comments

Jules

Distinguished Member
Its been 20 years or so since I studied audio engineering, but if my memory serves me well the larger radiating area of the tweeter will reduce the size of the dispersion pattern (the two are inversely proportional), making the sweet spot narrow?

Some manufacturers like to put waveguides in front of their tweeters (e.g. KEF) to help, so I can't help feeling this design from Monitor Audio with a pretty large, unconventional tweeter will need very careful placement.

Abacus

Nice Review, but you forgot to emphasize that most of the new Gold series have a nominal impedance of 4 ohms, (Rather than the usual 6 or 8 ohms) which will cause problems for a lot of amplifiers when pushed, as unless you really spend the money the power supplies in a lot of amplifiers fall short of what is needed.

Bill

Jules

Distinguished Member
Nice Review, but you forgot to emphasize that most of the new Gold series have a nominal impedance of 4 ohms, (Rather than the usual 6 or 8 ohms) which will cause problems for a lot of amplifiers when pushed, as unless you really spend the money the power supplies in a lot of amplifiers fall short of what is needed.

Bill
I've always considered the impedance ratings of speakers to be rather meaningless, since its a number they measure at 1Khz. A poorly designed speaker may be 8Ohms at 1Khz, but have an impedance that fluctuates all over the place above and below that frequency... maybe down to 2Ohms or less.

It might say 4 Ohms, but it could be a much easier load on your amplifier than a speaker that's rated at 8 Ohms in the spec sheet.

Goodmane

I'm still happy with the simple or classic looks of my Monitor Audio Silver 6 package. At the time, the Golds were arguably even nicer - if a little showier- but with the benefit a ribbon tweeter.