• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

monitor audio bx5 and yamaha as500 amp??

D

dstyler

Hi All, i am new to this and looking for any advice, thanks.

i have a panasonic vt20and a 3d blu ray panasonic bdt110

i now want to add a bit more omph to the set up. i am looking at ma bx5 and yamaha as500 amp. it is not important for me to future proof with an av amp and all the additional features they come with.

what i want is a stereo fronted by the blur ray for 65/70% of the time and a bit more when it comes to watching films. does this set up makes sense or do you think there are other alternatives out there. i do not want 5.1 but i may go to 2.1 with the ma bxw10 sub. my room is 15x15 and well furnished.

Overall i want a really good stereo, i know that some might say i need to change or add the to bdt110, but at the moment i am sticking with it as i am trying to keep to as little equipment as poss.

How will this all sound, has anybody heard or have someting similar to it.

Many thanks

Dean

placenta

Standard Member
i can tell you 80W x 2 of Yamaha receiver powers my BX5 perfectly. I think they are rated 120Wrms max, so the 80 is a real sweet spot. I think that amp is nice, as far as power levels for the speakers go.

Ben Jammin

Established Member
I think they will sound pretty awesome together. The Panny blu ray may be just fine. Plenty of other options which will also sound awesome together. Try and go do some listening yourself and dont pay too much attention to magazines / others opinions, sound is very subjective.

BlueWizard

Distinguished Member
For me the concern is not the amps and speaker, I expect both of them to play well together. Instead, it is connecting the TV to the Stereo system.