1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mobility RADEON 9200 > MCE2005 HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by Oasis-GasPanic, Jan 25, 2005.

  1. Oasis-GasPanic

    Oasis-GasPanic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    543
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South West London
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've had to get rid of my desktop HTPC setup so have been forced to load my copy of MCE 2005 onto my laptop (centrino 1.5, 512ram & Mobility RADEON 9200). Everything installed fine and even works fine inclding the supplied MS remote. The problem i'm getting is when i start the media centre i get a message that my radeon isn't compatible with MC so none of the nice looking overlays work and i can't view the MC in the screens native res (1680x1050) or even my projectors res (1280x720).

    Can anyone help me :lease:
     
  2. HSC

    HSC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +135
    your right - I have checked and its not on the MCE Approved Components List.
    The only certifed integrated graphics chip is the Radeon Express 200

    Silly question but have you checked the ATI site for the latest drivers on the off chance they may work....?
     
  3. Oasis-GasPanic

    Oasis-GasPanic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    543
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South West London
    Ratings:
    +5
    Cheers for the suggestion HSC, but "mobility" drivers aren't available on ATI's site. The closest i came to it working was when i found a utility which tricked the "standard" catalyst driver into thinking a radeon was installed when really a mobility was, but i keep getting an error when using it so back to square one.
     
  4. Oasis-GasPanic

    Oasis-GasPanic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    543
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South West London
    Ratings:
    +5
    IT WORKS!!!!!!! I've found a way to trick MCE '05 into thinking my Mobility Radeon 9200 is something else...............All i did was install the latest omega drivers! Once installed the G/card is called "mobility 9000 series" which not only is fully compatible with the MC app but to me makes the very few games i play on my laptop run a bit smoother WOOHOO!!!
     
  5. HSC

    HSC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +135
    well done
     
  6. PANTALEON1

    PANTALEON1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where Did You Download The Omega Drivers From? I Have The Same Computer As You And I Have Also Install Mce. Hope To Hear From You. Thank You
     

Share This Page

Loading...