Mobile Me Problems

Discussion in 'Apple Forum' started by baldrick, Feb 5, 2009.

  1. baldrick

    baldrick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Providence, Rhode Island
    Ratings:
    +246
    Is anyone else experiencing any problems with MobileMe? The web interface is fine but my iPhone and Mail on my Macs can't connect, I'm getting a 'time out on port 993' error!?!?!

    EDIT - It appears to be an issue when I try to connect via my home network. I just walked into town and my iPhone could check mail happily over the mobile network! I've just restarted my router, but this doesn't appear to have solved the problem?
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2009
  2. baldrick

    baldrick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Providence, Rhode Island
    Ratings:
    +246
    Additionally Adium can't connect to MSN, my accounts are all stuck at 38% 'Handshaking'!?!?!?
     
  3. spinaltap

    spinaltap
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1,356
    In your router, have you entered the MAC address of your iPhone (and of the airport card in your Macintosh) in its security panel - together with the ip address of both in the 'LAN IP Setup'?
     
  4. baldrick

    baldrick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Providence, Rhode Island
    Ratings:
    +246
    A factory reset of my router solved the problem. Zen technical support suggested it as a way to clear down the NAT tables which he thought might have gotten scrambled.

    Adding the MAC addresses is only necessary if you want to completely lock down a WiFi network.
     

Share This Page

Loading...