MKV2VOB Problem - All I get is 'Error getting mkv info!'

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by Slapaham, May 27, 2008.

  1. Slapaham

    Slapaham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +103
    As the title says - I finally got this program to work after a few days having no luck...

    downloaded new, old and everything in between versions of this and realised that the updater was what was causing the problem!

    Now that I have finally got it up and running I get the message 'Error getting mkv info!' every time I try and convert an MKV file... I've tried 2 different files now - I assumed the first time it happened it might have been the fault of the file but it happened again!

    Any suggestions... bare in mind I'm completely new to this program so I may be acting a bit dumb...:rolleyes:
     
  2. Arthur Hucksake

    Arthur Hucksake
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,785
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +143
    First of all check to see if they playback ok in Windows. If they do then it's not codec related.

    Second, make sure you are running version v2.2.3

    If you are using Vista, right click on the shortcut and goto Run As Administrator to launch the program.
     
  3. Slapaham

    Slapaham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +103
    Thanks for the help! I havent even got a codec for this - over to www.matroska.org/, I think!
     
  4. Slapaham

    Slapaham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +103
    Right, just installed the codecs and both videos work fine - I'm running windows xp so I haven't got the admin problem to contend with... so I wonder what on earth the problem can be!? Very frustrating! :(
     
  5. Slapaham

    Slapaham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +103
    Finally found something that helps...

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

    by downloading this Windows update I no longer have any problems with the loader and I don't get the mkv info error anymore...

    However, I now get a new error 'Error:mencoder crashed.'

    What a joke! :eek:

    Well, I suppose at least I'm getting closer to a solution each time (or at least I hope I am!)
     
  6. Slapaham

    Slapaham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +103
    Oh.. and I get the 'Could not parse mkv file!' error message on my other file...

    any suggestions... I'm kinda getting fed up with this now :thumbsdow

    ... I've had it for nearly a week now and converted NOTHING! :mad:
     
  7. Slapaham

    Slapaham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +103
    Ah ha! Just realised that changing the configuration to transcoding codec:xvid solved the mencoder problem :cool: ... but still need some suggestions to the 'parse' problem!
     
  8. Speedluvver

    Speedluvver
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    I am getting this problem too... any other suggestions ?
     
  9. Pincho Paxton

    Pincho Paxton
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +634
    Maybe try to get the KLite Codec package. It contains loads of codecs. I think it's legal, I'm not sure though. Sorry if it isn't.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice