MKV to WMV tutorial (in 5.1)

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by waring192, Sep 5, 2007.

  1. waring192

    waring192
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,912
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +180
    After spending hours trying to get this to work whilst keeping 5.1 audio i managed to find a way of doing it quickly so thought i would share;

    1st off, download these;

    -CCCP
    http://cccp-project.net/
    -WMNicEnc.zip v1.02 Beta
    http://nic.dnsalias.com/WMNicEnc/WMNicEnc.zip
    -Windows Media Encoder 9
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/forpros/encoder/default.mspx
    -AviSynth 2.5.7
    http://www.freewr.com/freeware.php?download=avisynth&lid=4002
    -Media Info
    http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/en/Download

    Before you carry on, uninstall all previous codecs/packs that you have installed.

    1. Extract and install the downloaded files

    2. Once installed go to the settings of the CCCP (Start>Programs>Combined Community Codec Pack>Settings) and change the FFDShow Audio Settings to No Mixing and untick MP3 from the Audio Decoders.

    3. Place your target movie file directly on your hard disk not in any folders then create .avs Avisynth script in notepad and add the following line DirectShowSource("c:\Name Of Your File Here") eg DirectShowSource("c:\TMNTTrailer.mkv") Also enable viewing of file extentions.

    4. Load up WMNicEnc and click on advanced options. Select Fastest on the Mininum/Maximum Complexity tab then click ok.

    5. (audio) Load up WMNicEnc and untick "Use Video". Select Windows Media Audio 10 Professional and 384kbps, 48kHz, 5.1 channel 24 bit CBR. Add your avs scripe and make sure the output is .wma. Finally tick Use MultiPass Encoder and click start.

    6. (video) Again Load up WMNicEnc and untick "use Audio" and tick "Use Video". Select Windows Media Video 9 Advanced Profile, set bitrate to *5000000, quality to 100, use Mediainfo (downloaded earlyer) to find out the FPS and add the amount to the box. Tick USe input size for the Resolution. On the VBR options click "constrained" and tick the max bitrate and add the amount 10000000. Make sure your output is .wmv

    7. When finished you will have two seperate files, Now you need to mux them back together. So open up windows media stream editor
    (start>programs>windows media>utilities>stream editor), Now you need to load your video and audio files. click add source and load your video and audio
    files what you need to do now is open up each branch till you see 384 kbps box and tick it for audio then same with your mbps video file then press add (see reference pics). Now they will appear in the setup output audiences bar branching of a single file now click create file it will now appear in the bottom bar finally click start it will create the file
    and save it in the directory you chose.

    8. Thats it once finished you will have re-muxed both audio and video and will have a xbox360 ready file with great picture quality and 5.1 sound!

    *The above is for 720p files, if you want to do the same with 1080p files just change the bitrate too 8000000 and the max bitrate to 15000000 and the FPS accordingly.
     
  2. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +396
    How long does it take, video taking the longest usually?
     
  3. Stoke192

    Stoke192
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Wirral..Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +2,056
    Nice one....but there's even easier ways to encode mkv's to wmv :)

    wme assistant

    Load your mkv directly into wmea set you video and audio setting ,then click encode....sorted :).Costs 20 quid mind but well worth the money for hassel free encodes :thumbsup:

    or

    TMPGEnc 4.0 XPress

    Slightly more complicated as it involves an avsynth script as you've described above.

    Load your script directly into TMPGEnc 4.0 XPress and again set your video and audio settings for wmv,click encode and your away :thumbsup:

    Both give very good results with very little if any loss of quality.


    P.S Both progs need Windows Media Encoder 9 to be installed.


    If anyone needs a tut for TMPGEnc 4.0 XPress then give me a shout and i'll sort one out :)
     
  4. waring192

    waring192
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,912
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +180
    Does that encode mkv's to wmv in 5.1?
     
  5. Stoke192

    Stoke192
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Wirral..Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +2,056
    Yep....as long as the original mkv is in DD 5.1,you need to select WMA 9 pro in the audio tab.This will encode you audio in 6 or 8 channels (5.1/7.1) at 768kbps.

    :)
     
  6. waring192

    waring192
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,912
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +180
    is it any quicker??
     
  7. Stoke192

    Stoke192
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Wirral..Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +2,056
    Than what ?.... Your Method ?

    I don't know,it'll depend on what your comparing it too.

    Also it'll depend on how big the file is your trying to encode,how good your pc is,etc.

    I do most of my encoding over night with the "Process Priority" tab set to realtime.....hogs all my resorces mind (Core2Duo E6600 2GB ram) but the pc is generally shut down by the time i get up.....which suits me :)

    If your after more instant gratification,you might want to take a look at Transcode360 or TVersity depending on your operating system.....but these need a pc with a bit of umph to transcode mkv's on the fly.

    :)
     
  8. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +396
    Can you give an example for like how long it takes you? For a TV show (usualyl 1GB size) or film (DVD size) :)
     
  9. CDR

    CDR
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,484
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +312

    Post your computer specifications too then as its pointless giving the time if your running a 486, like wise a top of the range PC :)
     
  10. TonyUK

    TonyUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7
    Stoke?

    Could you give a quick rundown of the settings you have in WMEA?

    I'm quite new to video converting, just dabbling with it and finding it all a bit overwhelming but I'm learning slowly!

    If it helps I'm mainly just trying to get 720p .mkv files (1080p isn't supported on my TV) and convert them to .wmv for 360 use.

    Thanks in advance,

    Tony.
     
  11. Stoke192

    Stoke192
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Wirral..Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +2,056
    I usually encode files around 8-10gb in size and this usually takes about 10hrs with wmea.
    It's usually a bit quicker using TMPGEnc 4.0 XPress which generally takes about 7-8hrs for the same size file.

    I don't encode tv eps as a rule but i've got Band of Brothers in mkv format i need to encode,these are about 2.5gb an episode in size.

    I'll encode a couple using both progs and post the times.

    Pc i'm using is as posted above......Core2Duo 2gb 5600 ram.

    :)
     
  12. finalfightguy

    finalfightguy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,299
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +302
    This looks exactly like Boomstick's guide from a well respected torrent site almost word for word. It definitely gives great results though.
     
  13. finalfightguy

    finalfightguy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,299
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +302
    As an example a 4GB file takes about 6 hours to fully convert with two passes on my P4 3ghz with 1.5gig of ram using Boomstick's method.
     
  14. Stoke192

    Stoke192
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Wirral..Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +2,056
    Here's my settings.....

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I usually select "real time" in the process priority tab but it does hog all my recourses, as i encode over night this generally isn't a problem.


    Hope this helps :)
     
  15. TonyUK

    TonyUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7
    Stoke,

    That's super, thanks ever so much!

    Cheers,

    Tony.
     
  16. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    Ok for someone not knowing about .mkv, could someone answer these questions..

    1. What is it?
    2. Is it legal?
    3. Where is the content got from.. eg..HDTV from US tv show/HD-DVD?
    4.Is there a relationship beween .ts, .vc1, .mkv?
    5.What software/codecs needed to play it back?
     
  17. TonyUK

    TonyUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7
  18. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,916
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +9,369
    I use WMEA, a 2hr film takes approx 3hrs to convert, a 40 min TV show (1GB) takes about an hour or so. Perfectly acceptable and the results are stunning
     
  19. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
  20. TonyUK

    TonyUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7
    I'll try answer 2, 3 & 4 (and 5 I suppose!) best I can!

    2. It's perfectly legal, it's just 1 way of encoding video, what would make it illegal would be the content of the video!

    3. Anywhere on the 'net really, websites, usenet (newsgroups), torrents etc..

    4. they're all just different ways of encoding videos, .ts files, I believe are uncompressed streams of video (ts = Transport Stream) the file sizes are usually huge!
    I'm a bit new to VC1 format so I'll leave that to someone else to describe!

    5. Try searching google for the CCCP Codec pack, that will have the necessary codecs to play .mkv files and a myriad of others too!

    Hope this helps a bit,

    Tony.
     
  21. dbwinter

    dbwinter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +368
    I want to do this with a G5 Apple Mac with OSX installed - I cannot find any programs that will do this - Can anyone help please?
     

Share This Page

Loading...