.mkv and Media Center

Discussion in 'Computer Software & Operating Systems' started by Shocky, Jan 14, 2008.

  1. Shocky

    Shocky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, Can someone tell me if it's possible to play .mkv files in media center?

    I've tried CCCP, ffdshow, haalisplitter and nothing, just refuses to play the file, works fine in media player.

    Using Vista x64, any ideas?
     
  2. graystreet

    graystreet
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Littlehampton, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +261
    I'm using Xp media centre and I can play .mkv files ok for some reason. I can't stream them using media Centre to say the PS3 but can play them on the PC.
     
  3. Shocky

    Shocky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm, any ideas as to what i'm missing or why it's not working?
     
  4. Wonka

    Wonka
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    hmm, do you need the registry fix to associate mkv with media centre, I know you did for XP

    have a look here
     
  5. Shocky

    Shocky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not working, must be slightly different with vista.. :(
     
  6. graystreet

    graystreet
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Littlehampton, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +261
    I'm not sure how brave you're feeling :) But I just found this. It does say it may not work on Vista 64 but thought it worth drawing your attention to it :)
     
  7. Shocky

    Shocky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, reg files don't seem to do anything.
     

Share This Page

Loading...