1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MJA Pro 50 question

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by jkruijff, Oct 30, 2002.

1. jkruijff

jkruijff
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi All,

i've been searching this forum for a couple of hours to find an answer to this question i have. Can't seem to be able to find it so here goes:

I was going to buy the new REL Quake, when i noticed the link from the REL site to this forum-site. It was only then that i discovered that a lot of you fine people are not too fond of the Quake at all, and that the MJA pro 50 is a (much) better choice for a little less money. "OK, i thought, I'm new to this, don't have a sub yet, so let's investigate into this Pro 50 thing." Every review about this sub is very positive, i must say, not only in magazines but also the ones from you fine people.

Here's my question:

- will this sub be powerful enough to "compete" with the rest of my home cinema setup. What i mean is: i have a yamaha RXV 800 RDS receiver, which should be able to pump out 100 watts RMS (most say it's more like 80, but that's way enough too). The MJA Pro 50 can deliver "only" 50 watts continously, and i have no way of knowing if this will be enough, or not.

It should be added that i would use a sub primarily as a Home Cinema sub, secondly for music.

I 'm looking forward to your views on and especially experience with this question.

thanks in advance for teaching a newbie.

Joël

2. BK Electronics

BK Electronics
    Active Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +25
    Hi

As a newcomer your first stop should be the power buys, as Uncle eric can get you a CHT10 for £325 this should see off the Quake and the MJA Pro 50.