1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mixing DDR RAM?

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by owain_thomas, Oct 13, 2005.

  1. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    I'm about to upgrade my main PC and was wondering about dual channel RAM, specifically, can I use the 2x256MB sticks I have now with another 2x 512MB sticks to get 1.5GB of dual channel memory or do all 4 sticks have to match?

    thanks
    owain
     
  2. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,440
    dont quote me on this :devil: but i'm fairly sure as long as the two channels match you should be ok.
     
  3. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    well, i'll probably just give it a go as i'm getting a pair of 512s any way, if the 256s work then fine. if not, ebay :)
     
  4. Supersonic

    Supersonic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +86
    That sounds about right to me, each memory channel (i.e. one pair of DIMM sockets) has to comprise the same RAM modules, but the channels themselves can differ.

    I have an nforce NF7-S which only has 3 dimm sockets, but you can put a single 512 in socket 1 (a single socket channel) and pair it with 2x256 in the other 2 sockets (a 2-socket channel) to make up 1Gb.
     
  5. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    21,370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +8,926
    On some motherboards, using all 4 DIMM slots can result in reduced Mhz, sometime as low as 166mhz.
     

Share This Page

Loading...