1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mitsubishi HC2000 impressions

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by MovieAddict, Aug 11, 2004.

1. MovieAddict

MovieAddict

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +14
    I've recently bought a Mitsubishi HC2000 to replace my Sanyo Z2.

So, if anyone has any questions to ask about the HC2000, I will do my best to answer them although I am not a projector expert like some of you. The Sanyo was my first pj (ever since getting that I've become an avid enthusiast).

I am projecting from about 14 feet onto a 8ft wide (110" diagonal) white ~1.5 gain screen. The DVD player is a Denon A11 using component and DVI.

My first impressions after about a week is that the picture it produces is just about all I could have wished for. The things that hit you are the vivid colours, extra contrast, no discernable pixel structure, no vb. All this combines to produce a superb cinematic image, especially with good quality DVD's.

After plugging it in for the first time, the out of box settings when fed through component seem to me to be close to optimum (from a purely subjective point of view).
    When I initially tried the DVI feed I was a little disappointed because the picture seemed a little dull in comparison with the seemingly brighter and more vivid component feed.

However... after changing some picture adjustment settings (mostly on the A11), the DVI picture I am now getting is great, and is now my preferred option.

As I have said, good quality DVD's produce a fantastic image and even bad quality DVD transfers like, for example 'Broken Arrow' (great movie) can be made to look very good on this pj.