Mission 773 speakers problem

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Ludgate205, Sep 5, 2007.

1. Ludgate205

Ludgate205

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm an absolute beginner to this site and relatively new to home cinema, apart from one box solutions but I guess they don't count.
    Recently purchased some mission 773's second hand and have been unable to get any bass from them. Tried them on two amps, bi-wired and normal and still no bass. Plenty of mid-range and treble. I assume the bass drivers are blown? Does this sound right? The speakers have two drivers that seem to handle mid range and bass, the mid range is coming out ok but with no bass? I have found some replacement drivers for the speakers (correct mission ones), would this be the best route to fix them? Thanks very much for any advice.

2. Nobber22

Nobber22

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +111
    No bass or less bass than you got from your all-in-one with the plastic, boomy sub?

Seriously, you are probably getting "bass", but it will be cleaner and less boomy than you are probably used to. If you are getting midrange, then all the drivers are working properly.

However I must stress that the 773s are hardly bass-meisters anyway and in fact are pretty weak speakers all round.:(
    Adding a (decent) sub is essential if you are hoping to get the full soundstage out of your listening.

3. Ludgate205

Ludgate205

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0